French Subtitles for Burning Astronaut Pee - Smarter Every Day 149



Subtitles / Closed Captions - French

Hey, il est moi Destin, bienvenue à Smarter Every Day

Quand je fais une vidéo, je demande normalement une question et avoir une assez bonne idée - - D'où cette question va me prendre. Celui-ci est de manière différente. Nous allons commencer dans une salle de musculation et nous allons finir dans les entrailles du Johnson Space Center, où nous rencontrons une dame qui brûle littéralement pee astronaute. Nous savons tous dans l'espace si un astronaute se trouve autour, il va perdre de la masse musculaire

Mais la Terre est différente lorsque je lève ce poids, il est en fait le poids Alors voici ma question, comment les astronautes soulever des poids dans l'espace? Pour en savoir la réponse à cela, laisse aller parler à Don Pettit astronautes et Mike Hopkins Il ne regarde pas comme vous avez été soulevait tout à fait autant que cet homme ici Je suis Destin Destin Salut, je suis Mike Mike, agréable de vous rencontrer Et Mike, vous êtes un expert à travailler dans le droit de l'espace?

Eh bien, je l'ai passé un peu de temps de travail ici sur Terre, et, ah, je juste pris ce que l'espace avec moi Vous prenez des gens comme Mike et moi (Destin) Goujons, permet d'être clairs, goujons à droite? Des gens comme Mike et moi (Destin rit) Et, vous le savez, nous sommes dans le milieu de la vie, nous sommes en bonne santé, et nous allons à la station Et nous obtenons maladie comme symptômes inculquées dans nos corps, à partir de plusieurs lieux, des lieux physiologiques Et il est un excellent moyen pour étudier l'effet de ces choses et de ce qui les cause et comment les prévenir

Certaines de ces maladies dont nous parlons prendre des années à se manifester ici sur Terre, mais dans l'espace, nous les verrons dans les mois - (Destin) droit - ou semaines, de sorte que un autre avantage à le faire en orbite (Destin) Oh qui fait sens et nous travaillons en ce moment cette machine que je tiens à appeler 'The Beast' - Tout le monde l'appelle le ARED (Destin) qui signifie quoi? - Ah vous savez ... Dispositif (Dr Bob) avancée Resistive Exercise (Destin) résistif avancée (Don) Ceci est le Dr Bob (Mike) Il est l'expert

(Destin) Dr Bob ... tu dois garder ces astronautes droite Il faut une certaine pensée de génie spécial pour faire une machine qui vous permet de pondérer ascenseur dans un environnement en apesanteur Avant Dr Bob explique comment fonctionne ARED Je voulais voir si je pouvais comprendre cela Ma première pensée était d'utiliser un ressort, mais plus vous compresser un ressort plus la force est nécessaire Le poids est une force constante, de sorte que cela ne fonctionne pas Je pensais la même chose avec des bandes élastiques, mais plus vous les étirer, plus force est nécessaire, de sorte que ne fonctionne pas non

Ma dernière pensée était d'utiliser un vérin pneumatique Si vous branchez une extrémité du cylindre d'air et vous avez compressé il cela pourrait fonctionner jusqu'à un certain point, mais que le volume diminue, la pression augmente nécessitant plus de force Alors, comment ont-ils fait? Le cœur du système sont ces deux bidons ici (Destin) Ok Ces deux boîtes contiennent un vide Maintenant, si nous pouvions regarder à l'intérieur de la cartouche, vous verriez un piston qui glisserait (Destin) OH! Attends une seconde! Parce que le vide ne change jamais

Oui le vide est toujours le même, est toujours un vide (Destin) Ainsi, au lieu de l'air sous pression et pousser contre quelque chose que vous allez juste à tirer Le volume de votre aspirateur est ici entre le piston et le haut de la chambre (Destin) Ok Maintenant, vous déplacer vers le bas, fixée au piston est une tige qui vient ici-bas et attache ici et ici (Destin) Bon alors le vide veut toujours à tirer les tiges jusqu'à (Destin) Comme une seringue comme une seringue, exactement comme une seringue

(Destin) Bon ceci est vraiment intelligent, pensez-y vous avez obtenu un cylindre, d'un piston et la pression atmosphérique tout autour Si vous poussez le piston dans tout le chemin et vous fermez la vanne à la fin, et vous tirez, vous allez créer un vide - Parce que la pression d'air normale à l'intérieur de la station pousse sur le côté arrière du piston, il crée une force Plus important encore, une force constante Cela est super simple et super intelligente Alors que le vide tire les pistons en place, il oblige ce bras vers le bas donc pistons montent, le bras descend et qui est constante Et donc dès maintenant le vide tient ce bras à cette butée supérieure Lorsque Mike se lève, il va libérer

Et maintenant, il tient à ce que les 50 livres dans cet exemple sur ses épaules (Destin) D'accord, il est beaucoup plus compliqué que je pensais qu'il était correct une fois de plus s'il vous plaît Mike? (Mike) Ok, on y va (Destin) descendant (Mike) Descente (Dr Bob) vide est le pressait vers le bas, et maintenant il est debout contre la force du vide (Don) Destin, ceci est seulement leviers simples (Destin) Ce Archimède (Don) Première classe, deuxième classe

Le droit de Don, il est juste un levier Si le vide est tirant sur un côté de la barre, ça va être poussée vers le bas avec une force constante sur l'autre Une autre chose est cool si vous vous éloignez de la position du point d'appui, vous pouvez faire varier le poids En fait, ils ont un moyen facile de régler cela, si un gars comme moi peuvent travailler avec des gars comme Mike et Don (Destin) Okay ... wow se sent comme poids - Il se sent exactement comme poids (Don) Voilà comment ça a été conçu

(Destin) Bon, alors voici une question, donc est-ce tout à propos de muscle? Il est tout au sujet musculaire - (Destin) Okay - ses environ os (Destin) Que voulez-vous dire? La densité osseuse Ah, le chargement de votre système squelettique (Destin) Je pensais que lorsque vous travaillez, vous travaillez à cause de vos muscles (Dr Bob) Vous êtes ... ah, vous êtes également mettre des charges sur votre système squelettique - - Et plus particulièrement la région de la hanche, la zone de la colonne vertébrale ... tout type de dessous de la taille que vous ne l'utilisez pas dans l'espace (Destin) Alors qu'est-ce que le chargement de l'os faire pour vous, vous avez dit que la densité osseuse?

(Dr Bob) Oui, ah, le chargement de l'os stimule la croissance osseuse - (Destin) Ok - Si nous voulons minimiser les pertes en stimulant les os autant que nous le pouvons (Destin) Okay, est que un gros problème dans l'espace? Il est une affaire énorme (Destin) Que voulez-vous dire qu'il est une affaire énorme? Eh bien, sans cela, vous pouvez vous tenir à perdre - - Deux à deux et demi pour cent de votre densité osseuse par mois Avez-vous entendu ce qu'il a dit? 2 à 2,5% par mois! Voilà fou si on extrapole que sur -

- Vos os vont être allé (Destin) Ainsi, après 30 mois, vous avez la moitié de votre densité osseuse? Peut-être, mais pas de ceux jamais je veux dire que nous ne pas envoyer les gens à la station spatiale et de ne pas les avoir exercice Ok si cela prend trois ans pour arriver à Mars et à l'arrière, un certain pourcentage de votre densité minérale osseuse a perdu chaque mois est une affaire énorme! Donc, je commencé penché à travers les données et je appris que la majeure partie de cette perte de densité minérale osseuse est perdue dans le bas du dos, à la hanche et dans le fémur - - Et si vous pensez à ce sujet, cela fait sens, parce que là où faire les personnes âgées le plus souvent briser un os?

Donc, pour comprendre cela, je suis allé encore mieux à la laboratoire de biochimie nutritionnelle là au Centre spatial Johnson - - Et je appris, que la majorité de ces minéraux sont pee-D sur les corps des astronautes Je suis avec le docteur Scott Smith et vous faites partie de l'équipe Nutritional Biochemistry ici au Centre spatial Johnson de la NASA ... qui est un très beau logo, I like that Donc, je remarquai que vous avez pipi sur le comptoir ici - Pourquoi est-ce si important? Nous nous sommes un laboratoire de biochimie nutritionnelle afin que nous regardons la biochimie, euh, une grande partie du travail que nous faisons est axé sur l'os -

- Parce qu'il ya beaucoup de choses dans votre corps, hum, il ya beaucoup de choses dans votre alimentation qui se rapportent à vos os - - Donc les choses comme le calcium et d'autres facteurs tout effet de vos os, donc nous sommes très intéressés à regarder ces choses - - Et la meilleure façon de le faire est de regarder des échantillons de sang et d'urine Votre corps est très intelligent, et il maintient le squelette que vous devez faire ce que vous faites - - Ce que cela signifie est que vous êtes formant autant d'os que vous briser (Destin) Il est comme ce cycle et vous faites l'os et vous êtes perdant en même temps (Scott) droit, et aussi longtemps que vous faites ces deux choses à la même vitesse, puis tout est bon

(Destin) Okay (Scott) Lorsque vous commencez à faire plus de l'un que l'autre est quand vous sortez de l'équilibre Ceci est un -80F congélateur et nous avons eu une douzaine d'autres à l'étage, nous avons un autre douzaine 2 heures dans un bunker que nous les protégeons - - De sorte que si un ouragan frappe ici et l'alimentation est coupée, nous ne perdons ces échantillons Es-tu sérieux? Donc tu dois protéger le pipi astronaute? Oui, comme vous ne croiriez pas Il est considéré comme un trésor national Voilà mon but dans la vie, est pour mon pipi à être considéré comme un trésor national Il est pas tout à fait ce que les roches lunaires sont ...

Tu es sérieux, parce que je veux dire si vous pensez qu'il aime, vous ne pouvez pas reproduire, parce que le montant de l'argent et des contribuables de dollars qui est allé dans la création - - Que spécifique contrôlée astronaute pipi, est irremplaçable qui est correcte Si vous voulez, Anna est là ... le droit maintenant courir urine de calcium de Anna (Destin) Vraiment (Destin) So Ann, tu prends l'urine et vous mettre dans la machine? Oui, je suis le diluer, 1: 100

(Destin) Comment se sent de savoir qu'un trésor national est entre vos mains? Ce trésor national étant astronaute urine ... Il est vraiment quelque chose de spécial (Destin rire) Quelle belle façon de répondre à cette question! Cette machine est à la recherche au calcium urinaire (Destin) Donc, vous dites que cela est où la masse osseuse va? Ils pissent sur leurs os (Scott) Ce est exact, ils urinent sur leurs os (Destin) WOAH

(Destin) il ya un feu qui se passe ici! Vous ne me dites pas que! Non, je ne vous ai pas (Destin) dire ce qui se passe avec le feu? (Scott) La machine injecte un échantillon dans cette flamme (Destin) Ok Et puis comme il brûle, ce qui se passe est que les mesures de la machine de l'absorption de la lumière et sur la base des normes et des courbes, euh - - Vous cherchez à ... son absorbe différentes longueurs d'onde de la chaleur et vous indique où le calcium est Il ya beaucoup de grands mots qui se passe ici, mais je veux que nous arrêtons et pensons à ce qui se passe réellement

Nous prenons l'astronaute pipi, et nous brûlons, et nous nous penchons sur la couleur de brûlé astronaute pee - - est-ce correct? C'est correct Dans membres de l'équipage avec l'ARED, quand ils sont revenus, lorsque nous avons examiné leurs rayons X - - Leur densité minérale osseuse était le même qu'il était avant le vol (Destin) et qui est jamais arrivé avant? (Scott) et qui est jamais arrivé avant, avec une bonne alimentation et l'exercice dure (Scott) Ceci est le changement de pour cent, par mois, de la densité minérale osseuse du corps entier (Destin) Ok

(Scott) Dans membres de l'équipage dans le MIR, où ils ne sont pas tout exercice résistif - En début de membres d'équipage sur la station où ils ont eu l'IRED, et les membres de l'équipage avec l'ARED (Destin) BOOM, ne peut pas aller sur Mars, ne peut pas aller sur Mars, vous pouvez aller sur Mars (Scott) Théoriquement oui (Destin) En raison de l'ARED (Scott) Et encore, il ya encore des questions sur la force et le noyau (Destin) Je l'obtenir, mais nous allons aller sur Mars Sérieusement! Voilà, comme, que les données est très très clair

(Scott) Voilà ce que nous pensions (Destin) Une autre chose qui est vraiment cool à propos de cette recherche est que tous ces documents qui sont coudés par le laboratoire de biochimie à la NASA - - Ne sont pas seulement applicable à l'espace Dans l'avenir, ces leçons sur l'alimentation et le chargement du squelette sera également aider les gens comme ma grand-mère - - Qui se remet actuellement d'une fracture de la hanche, et pour moi, qui est une affaire énorme Ok, je l'espère que vous avez apprécié cet épisode de Smarter Every Day Smarter chaque jour est parrainé par Audible.com, et ceci est le livre que je veux que vous obteniez

Il a appelé d'emballage pour Mars par Mary Roach, et je écouté cette chose sur le chemin vers Houston Il est un très bon livre, je l'ai apprécié beaucoup, il est sur les choses étranges que le corps humain ne quand vous le mettez dans l'espace Qu'advient-il de tous les trucs que votre peau excrète, comment votre corps détecte la pression artérielle, comment est celle effectuée par le vecteur de gravité, toutes sortes de choses bizarres Les corps humains le font, vous le savez, les choses brut, de sorte que vous ne vont pas vouloir écouter ce autour des enfants Je ne peux pas recommander ce suffisant: Emballage pour Mars par Mary Roach Vous pouvez obtenir ce gratuitement à partir Audible.com/smarter Je pense que vous l'aimerez

Aussi, vous pouvez consulter le reste de la série de l'espace, si vous vous sentez comme cet épisode gagné votre abonnement, sentez-vous libre de le faire - - Ou même en charge sur Patreon, mais seulement si elle lui a valu Quoi qu'il en soit, je vous remercie beaucoup pour regarder Je Destin, vous êtes plus intelligents Chaque jour ont un bon (Destin) Wow, se sent comme poids, il se sent exactement comme poids (Don) Voilà comment ça a été conçu

(Destin) Donc, je peux sentir l'inertie de ces volants (DON) Ces petits détails sont très importants quand vous arrivez dans un environnement en apesanteur (Destin) vache sacrée, il se sent comme je dois le poids sur mes épaules (Don) Et il montre juste que ce que les ingénieurs peuvent faire quand ils sont donnés, ah, un projet ambitieux et de vous les donner libre cours à venir avec un design (Destin) Comme je ne aime pas soulever des poids et je suis déjà triste que est incroyable



Video Description

Want to tweet this? http://bit.ly/BurnPeeTwt
Click here if you're interested in subscribing: http://bit.ly/Subscribe2SED
Get a free audio book! http://www.audible.com/Smarter ⇊ Click below for more links! ⇊
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
ARED - Advanced Resistive Exercise Device
Here are a few links to a few of the open access articles (including the initial ARED paper):
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22549960
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/24470067

Diet is also a major factor. See this free ebook authored by Dr. Smith (among others).
"Nutritional Biochemistry of Spaceflight"
https://www.novapublishers.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=20061

More books available for free download at: http://www.nasa.gov/hhp/education
Here's a NASA produced video explaining the same principles discussed in this video in greater detail:
https://youtu.be/b42WNnKVS2A?t=10m18s
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Tweet Ideas to me at:
http://twitter.com/smartereveryday

I'm "ilikerockets" on Snapchat.
Snap Code: http://i.imgur.com/7DGfEpR.png

Smarter Every Day on Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/SmarterEveryDay

Smarter Every Day on Patreon
http://www.patreon.com/smartereveryday

Smarter Every Day On Instagram
http://www.instagram.com/smartereveryday

Smarter Every Day SubReddit
http://www.reddit.com/r/smartereveryday

Ambiance and musicy things by: Gordon McGladdery did the outro music the video.
http://ashellinthepit.bandcamp.com/
The thought is it my efforts making videos will help educate the world as a whole, and one day generate enough revenue to pay for my kids college education. Until then if you appreciate what you've learned in this video and the effort that went in to it, please SHARE THE VIDEO!

If you REALLY liked it, feel free to pitch a few dollars Smarter Every Day by becoming a Patron.
http://www.patreon.com/smartereveryday

Warm Regards,

Destin

Download More Videos & Subtitles from SmarterEveryDay

English Subtitles for Burning Astronaut Pee - Smarter Every Day 149



Subtitles / Closed Captions - English

Hey it's me Destin, welcome back to Smarter Every Day

When I make a video, I normally ask a question and have a pretty good idea - - of where that question is going to take me. This one is way different. We're going to start in a weight room and we are going to end up deep in the bowels of Johnson Space Center, where we meet a lady who literally burns astronaut pee. We all know in space if an astronaut sits around he is going to lose muscle mass

But Earth is different When I lift this weight, it's actually weight So here is my question, how do astronauts lift weights in space? To learn the answer to this, lets go talk to astronauts Don Pettit and Mike Hopkins It doesn't look like you've been lifting quite as much as this man over here I'm Destin Hi Destin, I'm Mike Mike, nice to meet you And Mike, you're an expert at working out in space right?

Well I've spent some time working out here on Earth, and, ah, I just took that to space with me You take people like Mike and I (Destin) Studs, lets be clear, studs right? People like Mike and I (Destin laughs) And, you know, we're in the middle of life, we're healthy, and we go to station And we get disease like symptoms instilled in our bodies, from any number of venues, physiological venues And it's a great way to study the effect of these things and what's causing them and how to prevent them

Some of these diseases we're talking about take years to manifest here on Earth, but up in space we'll see them in months - (Destin) Right - or weeks, so that's another advantage to doing it up in orbit (Destin) Oh that makes sense And we're working right now this machine which I like to call 'The Beast' - everybody calls it the ARED (Destin) Which stands for what? - ah you know... (Dr Bob) Advanced Resistive Exercise Device (Destin) Advanced resistive (Don) This is Dr Bob (Mike) He is the expert

(Destin) Dr Bob...you got to keep these astronauts straight It takes some special engineering thinking to make a machine that allows you to weight lift in a weightless environment Before Dr Bob explains how ARED works I wanted to see if I could figure this out My first thought was to use a spring, but the more you compress a spring the more force is required Weight is a constant force, so that doesn't work I thought about the same thing with elastic bands, but the more you stretch them, the more force is required, so that doesn't work either

My final thought was to use an air cylinder If you plug one end of the air cylinder and you compressed it that would work up to a point, but as the volume decreases, pressure increases requiring more force So how did they do it? The heart of the system are these two canisters right here (Destin) Okay These two canisters contain a vacuum Now if we could look inside the canister you would see a piston that would slide (Destin) OH! Wait a second! Because a vacuum never changes

Yeah the vacuum is always the same, its always a vacuum (Destin) So instead of pressurizing air and pushing against something you're just going to pull it The volume of your vacuum is right here between the piston and the top of the chamber (Destin) Okay Now you pan down, attached to the piston is a rod that comes on down here and attaches here and here (Destin) Okay So the vacuum always wants to pull those rods up (Destin) Like a syringe Like a syringe, exactly like a syringe

(Destin) Okay this is really clever, think about it You got a cylinder, a piston and the atmospheric pressure all around If you push the piston in all the way and you close the valve at the end, and you pull, you're going to create a vacuum - because the normal air pressure on the inside of the station is pushing on the backside of the piston it creates a force More importantly, a constant force This is super simple and super clever So as the vacuum pulls the pistons up, it forces this arm down So pistons go up, arm goes down and that is constant And so right now the vacuum is holding this arm to this upper stop When Mike stands up it will release

And now he is holding that 50 pounds in this example on his shoulders (Destin) Okay, it's way more complicated than I thought it was Okay one more time please Mike? (Mike) Okay, here we go (Destin) Going down (Mike) Going down (Dr Bob) Vacuum is pressing him down, and now he is standing up against the force of the vacuum (Don) Destin, this is just simple levers (Destin) This is Archimedes (Don) First class, second class

Don's right, it's just a lever If the vacuum is pulling up on one side of the bar, it's going to be pushing down with a constant force on the other Another cool thing is if you vary the position of the fulcrum, you can vary the weight In fact, they've got an easy way to adjust that, so a guy like me can work out with guys like Mike and Don (Destin) Okay...wow feels like weight - it feels exactly like weight (Don) That's how it was designed

(Destin) Okay, so here's a question, so is this all about muscle? It's all about muscle - (Destin) Okay - its about bones (Destin) What do you mean? Ah bone density, loading your skeletal system (Destin) I though when you work out, you're working out because of your muscles (Dr Bob) You are...ah, you're also putting loads on your skeletal system - - most notably the hip area, the spine area...everything kind of below the waist you don't use in space (Destin) So what does loading the bone do for you, you said bone density?

(Dr Bob) Yes, ah, loading the bone stimulates bone growth - (Destin) Okay - so we want to minimize any losses by stimulating the bones as much as we can (Destin) Okay, is that a big deal in space? It's a huge deal (Destin) What do you mean it's a huge deal? Well, without that, you can stand to loose - - two to two and a half percent of your bone density per month Did you hear what he said? 2 to 2.5% per MONTH! That's crazy if you extrapolate that out -

- your bones are going to be gone (Destin) So after 30 months you have half your bone density? Possibly, but no ones ever I mean we don't send people to the space station and NOT have them exercise Okay if it takes three years to get to Mars and back, a certain percentage of your bone mineral density lost every month is a huge deal! So I started poring through the data and I learned that the bulk of that bone mineral density loss is lost in the lower back, in the hip and in the femur - - and if you think about it, that makes sense, because where do the elderly most often break a bone?

So to understand this even better I went to the Nutritional Biochemistry Lab there at Johnson Space Centre - - and I learned, that the majority of those minerals are being pee-d out of the astronauts bodies I'm with Doctor Scott Smith and you are part of the Nutritional Biochemistry team here at NASA Johnson Space Centre...that's a really nice logo, I like that So I noticed that you have pee on the counter here - Why is this so important? We'll we're a nutritional biochemistry lab so we look at biochemistry, um, a lot of the work that we do is focused on bone -

- because there is a lot of things in your body, um, there's a lot of things in your diet that relate to your bones - - so things like calcium and other factors all effect your bones, so we're very interested in looking at those things - - and the easiest way to do that is by looking at blood samples and urine samples Your body is pretty smart, and it maintains the skeleton that you need to do what you're doing - - what that means is that you're forming as much bone as you're breaking down (Destin) It's like this cycle and you're making bone and you're loosing it at the same time (Scott) Right, and as long as you're doing those two things at the same rate, then all is good

(Destin) Okay (Scott) When you start doing more of one than the other is when you get out of balance This is one -80F freezer and we got another dozen or so upstairs, we've got another dozen or so 2 hours away in a bunker that we protect them - - so that if a hurricane hits here and the power goes off, we don't loose those samples Are you serious? So you gotta protect the astronaut pee? Yes, like you wouldn't believe It is considered a National Treasure That's my goal in life, is for my pee to be considered a National Treasure It's not quite what the moon rocks are...

You're being serious, because I mean if you think about it like, you can't reproduce it, because the amount of money and tax-payer dollars that went into creating - - that specific controlled astronaut pee, is irreplaceable That's correct If you want, Anna's here...Anna's running urine calcium's right now (Destin) Really (Destin) So Ann, you're taking the urine and you're putting it into the machine? Yes, I'm diluting it, 1:100

(Destin) How does it feel to know that a National Treasure is in your hands? That National Treasure being astronaut urine... It's really something special (Destin laughing) What a great way to answer that question! This machine is looking at urinary calcium (Destin) So you're saying that this is where the bone mass goes? They pee out their bones (Scott) That is correct, they pee out their bones (Destin) WOAH

(Destin) There's a fire going on in here! You didn't tell me that! No, I didn't tell you (Destin) What's up with the fire? (Scott) The machine injects a sample into that flame (Destin) Okay And then as it burns, what happens is the machine measures the absorption of light and based on standards and curves, um - - you're looking at...its absorbs different wavelengths from that heat and tells you where the calcium is There's a lot of big words happening right here, but I want us to stop and think about what's actually happening

We're taking astronaut pee, and we're burning it, and we're looking at the colour of burnt astronaut pee - - is that correct? That's correct In crew members with the ARED, when they came back, when we looked at their X-Rays - - their bone mineral density was the same as it was before flight (Destin) And that's never happened before? (Scott) And that's never happened before, with good diet and hard exercise (Scott) This is the percent change, per month, in whole body bone mineral density (Destin) Okay

(Scott) In crew members in the MIR, where they didn't have any resistive exercise - In crew members early on station where they had the iRED, and crew members with the ARED (Destin) BOOM, can't go to Mars, can't go to Mars, you can go to Mars (Scott) Theoretically yes (Destin) Because of ARED (Scott) And again, there is still questions about strength and the core (Destin) I get it, but let's go to Mars Seriously! That's, like, that data is very very clear

(Scott) That's what we thought (Destin) Another thing that is really cool about this research is that all these papers that are being cranked out by the biochemistry lab at NASA - - are not just applicable to space In the future these lessons about diet and skeletal loading will also help people like my granny - - who is currently recovering from a broken hip, and to me, that's a huge deal Okay, I hope you enjoyed this episode of Smarter Every Day Smarter Every Day is sponsored by Audible.com, and this is the book I want you to get

It's called Packing for Mars by Mary Roach, and I listened to this thing on the way out to Houston It's a really really good book, I enjoyed it a lot, it's about the weird things that the human body does when you put it in space What happens to all the stuff that your skin excretes, how does your body detect blood pressure, how is that effected by the gravity vector, all kinds of weird stuff Human bodies do, you know, crude things, so you're not going to want to listen to this around the kids I cannot recommend this enough: Packing for Mars by Mary Roach You can get that for free from Audible.com/smarter I think you'll like it

Also, feel free to check out the rest of the space series, if you feel like this episode earned your subscription, feel free to do that - - or even support on Patreon, but only if it earned it Anyway, thank you so much for watching I'm Destin, you're getting Smarter Every Day Have a good one (Destin) Wow, feels like weight, it feels exactly like weight (Don) That's how it was designed

(Destin) So I can feel the inertia from those flywheels (Don) Those little details are really important when you get in a weightless environment (Destin) Holy cow, it feels like I've got weight on my shoulders (Don) And it just shows that what engineers can do when they're given, ah, a challenging project and you give them free reign to come up with a design (Destin) Like I don't like lifting weights and I'm already sad That's amazing



Video Description

Want to tweet this? http://bit.ly/BurnPeeTwt
Click here if you're interested in subscribing: http://bit.ly/Subscribe2SED
Get a free audio book! http://www.audible.com/Smarter ⇊ Click below for more links! ⇊
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
ARED - Advanced Resistive Exercise Device
Here are a few links to a few of the open access articles (including the initial ARED paper):
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/22549960
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/24470067

Diet is also a major factor. See this free ebook authored by Dr. Smith (among others).
"Nutritional Biochemistry of Spaceflight"
https://www.novapublishers.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=20061

More books available for free download at: http://www.nasa.gov/hhp/education
Here's a NASA produced video explaining the same principles discussed in this video in greater detail:
https://youtu.be/b42WNnKVS2A?t=10m18s
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Tweet Ideas to me at:
http://twitter.com/smartereveryday

I'm "ilikerockets" on Snapchat.
Snap Code: http://i.imgur.com/7DGfEpR.png

Smarter Every Day on Facebook
https://www.facebook.com/SmarterEveryDay

Smarter Every Day on Patreon
http://www.patreon.com/smartereveryday

Smarter Every Day On Instagram
http://www.instagram.com/smartereveryday

Smarter Every Day SubReddit
http://www.reddit.com/r/smartereveryday

Ambiance and musicy things by: Gordon McGladdery did the outro music the video.
http://ashellinthepit.bandcamp.com/
The thought is it my efforts making videos will help educate the world as a whole, and one day generate enough revenue to pay for my kids college education. Until then if you appreciate what you've learned in this video and the effort that went in to it, please SHARE THE VIDEO!

If you REALLY liked it, feel free to pitch a few dollars Smarter Every Day by becoming a Patron.
http://www.patreon.com/smartereveryday

Warm Regards,

Destin

Download More Videos & Subtitles from SmarterEveryDay