French Subtitles for What If You Were Never Taught Anything?



Subtitles / Closed Captions - French

Salut et bienvenue à la vie caboche!

À un jeune âge, les enfants commencent à comprendre le monde qui les entoure par observation apprentissage - où les jeunes enfants observent les actions des autres et les imiter. Dans une étude célèbre, appelée l'expérience Doll Bobo, les enfants ont observé les adultes verbalement et avoir agressé physiquement une poupée. Plus tard, quand les adultes ne sont pas présents, les enfants qui ont vu le comportement agressif réagi De même.

Donc, il est clair que l'observation facilite l'apprentissage. Mais si vous ne l'avez pas quelque chose à observer, ou quelqu'un pour vous enseigner? Autrement dit, si vous jamais rien appris? Pour commencer, nous allons discuter si serait comme si vous manquez quelque chose d'aussi fondamental comme langue. Naturellement, cela est une chose difficile à étudier parce que, tu sais, il est incroyablement

immoral d'isoler une personne à cause de la recherche scientifique. Mais parfois, en raison de circonstances horribles, les scientifiques sont capables d'étudier le cerveau de les enfants qui ont été élevés avec peu ou pas de contact humain. Et le plus célèbre de ces enfants est Genie Wiley sauvages. Genie a passé les 13 premières années de sa vie enfermé dans une petite chambre dans ses parents maison.

En 1970, ses parents ont été accusés de violence envers les enfants et Genie a commencé avec la réhabilitation une équipe de psychologues et de linguistes. Là, elle a appris des mots et est devenu très intrigué par le monde autour d'elle. Et les scientifiques utilisaient ses expériences pour répondre à la question suivante: si une personne est privé de la langue tout au long de leur enfance, peuvent-ils jamais apprendre suffisamment pour pouvoir communiquer bien?

Tout d'abord, la réponse semble être oui. Genie a rapidement commencé à apprendre de nouveaux mots pour les objets autour d'elle et même dire des phrases avec deux ou trois mots semblables à la façon dont les tout-petits parlent. Cependant, à partir de là, sa capacité à communiquer verbalement plafonne. Ceci est parce qu'elle ne pouvait pas apprendre la grammaire, qui linguiste Noam Chomsky sépare le langage humain de la communication des animaux.

Il est apparu que Genie avait passé la période critique de l'apprentissage du langage humain, qui est pensé pour mettre fin à la puberté. Les scientifiques ont émis l'hypothèse que, après une période de développement restreint où le système nerveux est particulièrement sensible aux effets d'une certaine expérience dans ce cas, la langue, il est presque impossible de l'apprendre. Et les mêmes effets ont également été démontré lors de l'apprentissage en langue des signes après la critique

période. Vous connaissez l'expression « vous ne pouvez pas apprendre à un vieux chien de nouveaux trucs? » Vous pouvez penser que le chien qui passe sa période critique pour l'apprentissage de nouvelles actions. Maintenant, vous vous demandez probablement pourquoi il y a une période critique en premier lieu. Selon Eric Lenneberg, le linguiste qui a popularisé l'hypothèse de la période critique, la fonction du langage tend à régler dans l'hémisphère gauche du cerveau après la

période critique. Et on pense que le cerveau perd de sa plasticité après cette latéralisation. Donc, si vous ne l'avez pas langue apprise qu'après ce point, il peut être plus difficile pour votre cerveau pour apprendre le nouveau matériel. Et malheureusement pour Genie, elle était déjà passé ce moment-là. Cependant, alors que Genie ne serait jamais en mesure d'utiliser efficacement la langue, elle a pu

apprendre rapidement d'autres choses, telles que la façon d'utiliser les toilettes et se habiller. Et elle a aussi été fasciné incroyablement par le monde autour d'elle. Alors peut-être il y a encore un peu d'espoir pour ceux qui ont jamais été enseigné. La langue peut avoir une période critique, mais certaines actions peut encore être possible d'apprendre par observation, peu importe l'âge où ils sont introduits. Y at-il autre chose que vous pensez que vous avez seulement si longtemps à apprendre?

Faites-moi savoir dans les commentaires ci-dessous! Rappel rapide que la vie caboche dispose désormais d'un canal qui se concentre entièrement sur la science des jeux vidéo! Le Voyage dans le temps en état d'alerte possible? Consultez Jouer caboche! Assurez-vous que vous revenez tous les lundis pour une toute nouvelle vidéo.

Comme toujours, je suis Blocko et cela a été la vie caboche. Ne pas oublier de continuer à penser!



Video Description

Education is essential, but what would happen if you never learned anything?

Watch More: Could You Move In The Fourth Dimension? ►►►► https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I__TQen1OuY

Support Life Noggin on Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/LifeNogginStudios?ty=h

Follow Us!
https://twitter.com/LifeNoggin
https://facebook.com/LifeNoggin

Click here to see more videos: https://www.youtube.com/user/lifenoggin

Life Noggin is a weekly animated educational series. Whether it's science, pop culture, history or art, we explore it all and have a ton of fun doing it.

Life Noggin Team:
Animation by Steven Lawson
Director/Voice: http://lifenogg.in/patgraziosi
Executive Producer: http://lifenogg.in/IanDokie
Director of Marketing: http://lifenogg.in/JaredOban
Writer: http://lifenogg.in/KayleeYuhas

Sources:
http://psychology.about.com/od/historyofpsychology/a/genie.htm
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK11007/
http://psychology.about.com/od/historyofpsychology/a/genie.htm
http://clas.mq.edu.au/speech/animal_communication/
http://www.lel.ed.ac.uk/~jim/crit.per.pdf
https://www.oecd.org/edu/ceri/33835210.pdf
http://www.ed.kagawa-u.ac.jp/~nagai/papers/kn7/kn7.htm
http://www.britannica.com/event/Bobo-doll-experiment

English Subtitles for What If You Were Never Taught Anything?



Subtitles / Closed Captions - English

Hey there and welcome to Life Noggin!

At a young age, children begin to understand the world around them through observational learning -- where young children observe the actions of others and mimic them. In a famous study, called the Bobo Doll Experiment, children observed adults both verbally and physically abusing a doll. Later, when the adults were not present, the children who saw the aggressive behavior reacted similarly.

So, it’s clear that observation facilitates learning. But what if you didn’t have anything to observe, or anyone to teach you? In other words, what if you were never taught anything? To begin, let’s discuss what if would be like if you were missing something as fundamental as language. Understandably, this is a tricky thing to study because, ya know, it’s incredibly

immoral to isolate a person for the sake of scientific research. But sometimes, due to horrible circumstances, scientists are able to study the brains of children who have been raised with little to no human contact. And the most famous of these feral children is Genie Wiley. Genie spent the first 13 years of her life locked away in a small bedroom in her parents’ home.

In 1970, her parents were charged with child abuse and Genie began rehabilitation with a team of psychologists and linguists. There, she was taught words and became very intrigued with the world around her. And scientists were using her experiences to answer the following question: if a person is deprived of language throughout their childhood, can they ever learn enough to be able to communicate well?

At first, the answer appeared to be yes. Genie quickly began to learn new words for the objects around her and even say phrases with two or three words similar to how toddlers speak. However, from there, her ability to communicate verbally plateaued. This is because she could not learn grammar, which linguist Noam Chomsky believes separates human language from the communication of animals.

It appeared that Genie had passed the critical period of learning human language, which is thought to end around puberty. Scientists have hypothesized that, after a restricted developmental period where the nervous system is particularly sensitive to the effects of a certain experience, in this case, language, it is nearly impossible to learn it. And the same effects have also been shown when learning sign language after the critical

period. You know the phrase “you can’t teach an old dog new tricks?” You can think of that as the dog passing its critical period for learning new actions. Now, you’re probably wondering why there is a critical period in the first place. According to Eric Lenneberg, the linguist who popularized the critical period hypothesis, the function of language tends to settle in the left hemisphere of the brain after the

critical period. And it’s thought that the brain loses some of its plasticity after this lateralization. So, if you haven’t learned language until after this point, it may be harder for your brain to learn the new material. And sadly for Genie, she was already past that point. However, while Genie would never be able to effectively use language, she was able to

quickly learn other things, such as how to use the toilet and dress herself. And she was also incredibly fascinated by the world around her. So maybe there is still some hope for those who have never been taught anything. Language may have a critical period, but some actions may still be possible to learn through observation no matter the age they’re introduced. Is there anything else you think you only have so long to learn?

Let me know in the comments below! Quick reminder that Life Noggin now has a channel that focuses entirely on the science of video games! Is the time travel in Overwatch possible? Check out Play Noggin! Make sure you come back every Monday for a brand new video.

As always, I’m Blocko and this has been Life Noggin. Don’t forget to keep on thinking!



Video Description

Education is essential, but what would happen if you never learned anything?

Watch More: Could You Move In The Fourth Dimension? ►►►► https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I__TQen1OuY

Support Life Noggin on Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/LifeNogginStudios?ty=h

Follow Us!
https://twitter.com/LifeNoggin
https://facebook.com/LifeNoggin

Click here to see more videos: https://www.youtube.com/user/lifenoggin

Life Noggin is a weekly animated educational series. Whether it's science, pop culture, history or art, we explore it all and have a ton of fun doing it.

Life Noggin Team:
Animation by Steven Lawson
Director/Voice: http://lifenogg.in/patgraziosi
Executive Producer: http://lifenogg.in/IanDokie
Director of Marketing: http://lifenogg.in/JaredOban
Writer: http://lifenogg.in/KayleeYuhas

Sources:
http://psychology.about.com/od/historyofpsychology/a/genie.htm
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK11007/
http://psychology.about.com/od/historyofpsychology/a/genie.htm
http://clas.mq.edu.au/speech/animal_communication/
http://www.lel.ed.ac.uk/~jim/crit.per.pdf
https://www.oecd.org/edu/ceri/33835210.pdf
http://www.ed.kagawa-u.ac.jp/~nagai/papers/kn7/kn7.htm
http://www.britannica.com/event/Bobo-doll-experiment