Russian Subtitles for Measuring policing differently | Steve Potter | TEDxNapaValley



Subtitles / Closed Captions - Russian

на <font color="#E5E5E5">протяжении всей моей карьеры , и </font>

<font color="#E5E5E5">после того, как моей точки </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">Начальник полиции Я всегда </font> чтобы улучшить наш уровень доверия с сообщества, а также для создания более позитивного взаимодействия с общественным <font color="#E5E5E5">мы </font> искать по всей стране сегодня, и мы видим,

что <font color="#E5E5E5">существует большая потребность в изменении </font> так, как мы и в полиции с тем, что взаимодействие , которое мы имеем <font color="#E5E5E5">так немного </font> фоновых <font color="#E5E5E5">исторически </font><font color="#CCCCCC">полиции </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">отделы </font><font color="#CCCCCC">используют </font><font color="#E5E5E5">ряд мер , направленных на </font> предсказать их преемника, чтобы показать их

Успех <font color="#CCCCCC">некоторых из них </font><font color="#E5E5E5">являются универсальными </font> Доклад преступление , которое захватывает число серьезных преступлений, которые имеют произошло в сообществе <font color="#CCCCCC">сообщается </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">к федеральному </font><font color="#CCCCCC">правительству , если вы </font><font color="#E5E5E5">едете </font> числа вниз <font color="#CCCCCC">ваш успешный </font><font color="#E5E5E5">мы принимаем </font>

мы измеряем ответа на вызовы времени наши диспетчеры <font color="#CCCCCC">они время обработки </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">и мы также измерить время отклика </font> для наших сотрудников, попадающих на место преступление есть потенциал недостатка в тех,

измерения , <font color="#E5E5E5">так и потенциал </font> что вам действительно нужно преступление произойти и что вам нужны ваши менты управлять очень быстро попасть туда для того, чтобы объявить себя в безопасности и иметь не успешным <font color="#CCCCCC">Департамент полиции </font><font color="#E5E5E5">мы не </font>

другой мы <font color="#E5E5E5">измеряли те навсегда здесь </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">Напа , </font><font color="#CCCCCC">но мы считаем , что настало время , что мы </font> создать изменение , которое <font color="#E5E5E5">мы должны изменить от </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">измерения ориентированных преступлений , которые мы используем </font> более <font color="#E5E5E5">микрорайона на основе </font>

Модель общественного порядка <font color="#E5E5E5">измерения помогают </font> установить <font color="#E5E5E5">финансирование из </font><font color="#CCCCCC">федерального </font> правительство для охраны общественного порядка <font color="#E5E5E5">программы получить положить на место </font> полиции по месту жительства <font color="#CCCCCC">велика она вообще </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">означает , что вы получите определенное количество </font>

Сотрудники в вашем отделе, которые получают назначены для взаимодействия с общественностью, чтобы иметь дело с <font color="#CCCCCC">качеством вопросов жизни и </font> обрабатывать <font color="#E5E5E5">отношения общественных потребностей с </font> их это здорово , <font color="#E5E5E5">но то , что она делает это </font>

создает <font color="#E5E5E5">небольшую группу офицеров </font> кто <font color="#CCCCCC">это их ответственность , чтобы сделать </font> эти акты и мы смотрим на него и мы говорим, что то, что нам действительно нужно, сделать философское изменение в нашем отдел , <font color="#E5E5E5">и мы должны </font>

<font color="#E5E5E5">есть весь наш </font><font color="#CCCCCC">отдел </font><font color="#E5E5E5">действовать как </font> Послы в сообщество <font color="#E5E5E5">так и с </font> ориентированное сообщество полицейская <font color="#E5E5E5">существо </font> лишь несколько офицеров , <font color="#CCCCCC">если мы можем переместить его в </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">и мы находимся в процессе этого </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">создавая весь </font><font color="#CCCCCC">отдел , </font><font color="#E5E5E5">имеющий по </font>

<font color="#CCCCCC">п2 </font><font color="#E5E5E5">желая обеспечить полицейской службы </font> и полицейской службы означают <font color="#CCCCCC">качество </font> <font color="#CCCCCC">Жизнь </font><font color="#E5E5E5">сообщества заботящегося </font><font color="#CCCCCC">против закона </font> исполнение которых пишет билеты <font color="#E5E5E5">и </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">арестовывать людей , поэтому мы находимся в процессе </font> сделать что эти изменения , <font color="#CCCCCC">как </font><font color="#E5E5E5">мы </font><font color="#CCCCCC">делаем </font>

делать это <font color="#CCCCCC">хорошо пару лет назад </font><font color="#E5E5E5">мы положить </font> опрос к сообществу <font color="#CCCCCC">мы попросили </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">каковы интересы были ее дали </font> окрестностей <font color="#CCCCCC">мы взяли информацию </font> и мы разделили <font color="#CCCCCC">дремлет </font><font color="#E5E5E5">в 226 идентифицированных </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">окрестности многие из них были </font>

которые были определены членами сообщества в эти районы некоторые из них исторические <font color="#E5E5E5">в том , что они были </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">жилищные проекты , которые были помещены во многих </font> лет назад , такие как <font color="#CCCCCC">страны усадьба </font> Площадь оладьи долины <font color="#E5E5E5">мы ставим на место тех , </font>

а потом мы начали делать сообщество встречи <font color="#E5E5E5">мы принимаем участие в опросе информации </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">мы бы взяли наши члены нашей команды </font> персонала, а также должностные лица , <font color="#CCCCCC">мы бы </font> из в <font color="#E5E5E5">окрестностях , и мы бы </font> спросите людей, что это вы хотите увидеть

из <font color="#E5E5E5">отдела вашей полиции </font><font color="#CCCCCC">мы действительно </font> стремление сделать больше подгонян подход к тому, как мы обеспечиваем закон исполнительное услуги Работа <font color="#E5E5E5">полиции </font> услуги для сообщества , <font color="#E5E5E5">потому что вы </font> на самом деле не могут применять те же потребности , <font color="#E5E5E5">или </font><font color="#CCCCCC">тому </font>

<font color="#E5E5E5">услугу </font><font color="#CCCCCC">I малярии , как вы делаете из </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">оладьи долина </font><font color="#CCCCCC">там </font><font color="#E5E5E5">и </font><font color="#CCCCCC">Дайер </font> совершенно разные районы <font color="#E5E5E5">они </font> имеют разные потребности разные интересы <font color="#E5E5E5">то же самое относится и к старому городу или </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">North </font><font color="#CCCCCC">напа есть </font><font color="#E5E5E5">просто есть много </font>

различий в том, что они хотят <font color="#CCCCCC">есть </font> некоторые последовательные вещи , <font color="#E5E5E5">но есть </font> много различий, и мы хотим настроить этот подход <font color="#CCCCCC">отдать </font> сообщества , <font color="#CCCCCC">что они нуждаются в </font><font color="#E5E5E5">цель </font> за это нам действительно нужно построить

доверять с нашим сообществом <font color="#E5E5E5">мы действительно нуждаемся </font> чтобы добраться <font color="#E5E5E5">до </font> точка, где мы имеем больше взаимодействия <font color="#CCCCCC">нам нужно иметь более позитивный </font> взаимодействие с нашим сообществом , <font color="#CCCCCC">я думаю , </font> <font color="#CCCCCC">мы делаем очень хорошую работу , как </font><font color="#E5E5E5">сейчас , но </font>

не все контакты являются положительными , <font color="#E5E5E5">поэтому мы хотим </font> чтобы увеличить, что мы поставили механизмы на месте уже , <font color="#E5E5E5">что помогли нам в </font> те области , <font color="#E5E5E5">некоторые из них мы делаем некоторые </font> менее традиционные методы <font color="#E5E5E5">в нашем </font> отдел мы имеем бездомного охват

Программа у <font color="#E5E5E5">нас есть много людей , которые </font> в городе , который <font color="#E5E5E5">не может позволить себе не место </font> жить <font color="#CCCCCC">так , у нас есть группа людей , </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">гражданских служащих , которые выходят они </font> свяжитесь с нашим бездомным <font color="#E5E5E5">они </font><font color="#CCCCCC">если лицо </font> нужна <font color="#E5E5E5">водительские права , чтобы они могли получить </font>

работу или если они должны подать заявление на <font color="#CCCCCC">SSI </font> выгоды , <font color="#CCCCCC">что они нужны , если они нуждаются </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">раздел 8 корпус , что группа людей </font> <font color="#CCCCCC">помочь </font><font color="#E5E5E5">этим людям и их </font> бездомность <font color="#CCCCCC">так , чтобы </font><font color="#E5E5E5">они меньше </font> уязвимы <font color="#CCCCCC">менее восприимчивы к </font>

стать жертвами или необходимости прибегать к преступления для удовлетворения своих потребностей <font color="#E5E5E5">еще </font> области, что мы мы обратились в мы используем у нас есть программа для переадресации в нашем отдел <font color="#CCCCCC">поэтому использовать программу версии мы </font> у работника договора от частного

группа, которая приходит и она делает много работа с несовершеннолетними, чтобы убедиться, что они <font color="#E5E5E5">этого не делают , </font><font color="#CCCCCC">как молодые люди они этого не делают </font> в конечном итоге с судимостью, что это <font color="#E5E5E5">будет следовать за ними в жизни , и это </font> будет препятствовать им быть

успешный поэтому мы принимаем, как многие из этих случаев мы можем мы стараемся, чтобы отвлечь их от Система уголовного правосудия <font color="#CCCCCC">мы стараемся </font> оказать помощь для людей, а не просто держа их в <font color="#CCCCCC">сливки в </font>

Система уголовного правосудия <font color="#CCCCCC">еще одна область </font> что мы начали в последнее время, и это это с помощью здоровья округа и человеческих услуг <font color="#E5E5E5">является то , что у нас есть </font> работник умственного здоровья, который имеет лекарство и алкоголь <font color="#E5E5E5">фон </font><font color="#CCCCCC">который встроен </font><font color="#E5E5E5">в наш </font>

отдел в течение 20 часов в неделю <font color="#CCCCCC">она помогает </font> нас с людьми с <font color="#E5E5E5">проблемами психического здоровья </font> так <font color="#E5E5E5">как они появляются , вместо того , чтобы ждать </font> для тех людей , <font color="#CCCCCC">слишком </font> <font color="#CCCCCC">совершить какое - то действие , которое затем силы </font> их в систему уголовного правосудия

<font color="#CCCCCC">наша цель наше намерение состоит в том, чтобы помочь людям , </font><font color="#E5E5E5">как </font> столько, <font color="#E5E5E5">сколько мы , возможно , может </font> это наш фокус <font color="#CCCCCC">мы имеем , мы также </font> используя гораздо больше социальных медиа, чтобы попытаться войти в контакт с людьми , <font color="#E5E5E5">я уверен , что </font> Многие из вас видели наши сообщения,

выйти либо nixle <font color="#E5E5E5">на Facebook на </font> <font color="#CCCCCC">Twitter мы </font><font color="#E5E5E5">пытаемся использовать те , но </font> наш <font color="#E5E5E5">наш реальный фокус </font><font color="#CCCCCC">пытается </font> воссоединиться с сообществом <font color="#E5E5E5">есть те , </font> <font color="#CCCCCC">партии позитивного взаимодействия были </font> тесно <font color="#CCCCCC">настроить эту </font><font color="#E5E5E5">услугу и дать </font>

что <font color="#E5E5E5">я действительно верю </font><font color="#CCCCCC">Napa один раз </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">поддерживать высокое качество жизни вопроса </font> здесь <font color="#E5E5E5">и что это то , что положительный </font> ВЗАИМОДЕЙСТВИЕ полицейская <font color="#E5E5E5">вместо закона </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">обеспечение соблюдения , </font><font color="#CCCCCC">почему пекинская я думаю , что </font><font color="#E5E5E5">это </font><font color="#CCCCCC">ворс </font> Идеальное место для него, потому что у нас есть

на протяжении многих лет мы наняли очень хорошо качества людей для <font color="#E5E5E5">нашего отдела </font><font color="#CCCCCC">мы находимся </font> очень избирательно <font color="#E5E5E5">и кто получает нанял </font><font color="#CCCCCC">мы </font> хотите , чтобы <font color="#E5E5E5">убедиться , что подходят для </font> наше агентство , <font color="#E5E5E5">и что мы подходят для них </font> <font color="#CCCCCC">мы хотим , чтобы </font><font color="#E5E5E5">убедиться , что они </font>

понять, что это такое, что сообщество <font color="#E5E5E5">ожидать от них мы хотим, чтобы обеспечить </font> что <font color="#CCCCCC">сервис, не сказать , что </font> мы не собираемся делать правоохранительные органы работать, потому что мы будем продолжать сделать это , но <font color="#E5E5E5">это действительно охвата </font>

<font color="#E5E5E5">став частью сообщества , имеющие </font> более глубокое понимание того, что <font color="#E5E5E5">окрестности и какие люди в </font> это сообщество , <font color="#CCCCCC">что и </font><font color="#E5E5E5">работает в направлении </font> что <font color="#CCCCCC">так другое дело , что у нас есть, </font> мы имеем очень заинтересованную общину <font color="#CCCCCC">мы имеем </font>

очень заботливым сообщество <font color="#CCCCCC">у нас очень </font> давая сообщества и с помощью община здесь и с <font color="#E5E5E5">талантом </font> что у нас есть в отделе полиции <font color="#CCCCCC">I </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">действительно считаю , что мы можем добраться до места </font> где мы предлагаем вам услугу, которая

Вы ожидаете от <font color="#CCCCCC">Департамента полиции вашего </font> Спасибо



Video Description

City of Napa Police Chief Steve Potter shares his idea of policing that connects with the community as part of the TEDxNapaValley 2015 "Redefining Success: changing direction mid-stream" event.

Steve's Event Photos are here - https://www.flickr.com/photos/tedxnapavalley/sets/72157652059669511

This video was produced by 360 Kreative Services (http://360kreative.com) in conjunction with 3 rock marketing (http://www.3rockmarketing.com)

Born and raised in Napa, California, Steve has more than three decades of law enforcement experience in Napa County. A proud public servant described by the mayor as a good communicator, problem solver and widely involved and respected in the community, Steve was appointed Police Chief in Napa in 2014. He is a current member of the Napa County Hispanic Chamber of Commerce and sits on the board of directors for Leadership Napa Valley. Steve is also an associate member of IACP (the International Association of Chiefs of Police), an associate member of CPCA (the California Police Chiefs Association), and a member of the California Peace Officers Association.

This talk was given at a TEDx event using the TED conference format but independently organized by a local community. Learn more at http://ted.com/tedx

English Subtitles for Measuring policing differently | Steve Potter | TEDxNapaValley



Subtitles / Closed Captions - English

<font color="#E5E5E5">throughout my career and</font>

<font color="#E5E5E5">after my point</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">Chief of Police I've always</font> to improve our level of trust with the community and also to create more positive interactions with the public<font color="#E5E5E5"> we</font> look across the country today and we see

that<font color="#E5E5E5"> there is great need for a change in</font> the way that we police and in with that interaction that we have<font color="#E5E5E5"> so little bit</font> of background<font color="#E5E5E5"> historically</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> police</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">departments</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> use</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> several measures to to</font> predict their successor to show their

success<font color="#CCCCCC"> some of those</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> are the universal</font> crime report which captures<font color="#E5E5E5"> the the</font> number of serious crimes that have happened in the community<font color="#CCCCCC"> it's reported</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">to the federal</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> government if you</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> drive</font> the numbers down<font color="#CCCCCC"> your successful</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> we take</font>

we measure the call answering time for our dispatchers<font color="#CCCCCC"> they're handling time</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">and we also measure the response time</font> for our officers getting to the scene of the crime there's potential for flaw in those

measurements<font color="#E5E5E5"> so and that potential is</font> that you really need the crime to occur and that you need your cops to drive really fast to get there in order to declare yourself safe and to have a successful<font color="#CCCCCC"> Police Department</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> we're no</font>

different we've<font color="#E5E5E5"> measured those forever here in</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">Napa</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> but we think that is time that we</font> create change<font color="#E5E5E5"> we need to change from the</font> crime<font color="#E5E5E5"> centric measurements that we use</font> to more of the<font color="#E5E5E5"> neighborhood based</font>

policing model<font color="#E5E5E5"> the measurements help</font> establish<font color="#E5E5E5"> funding from the the</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> federal</font> government for community policing <font color="#E5E5E5">programs get put in place</font> community policing<font color="#CCCCCC"> is great it generally</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">means that you get a certain number of</font>

officers in your department who get assigned to interact with the public to deal with<font color="#CCCCCC"> quality of life issues and to</font> handle the<font color="#E5E5E5"> public relations needs with</font> them that's great<font color="#E5E5E5"> but what it does is it</font>

creates the<font color="#E5E5E5"> a small group of officers</font> who<font color="#E5E5E5"> are</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> it's their responsibility to do</font> those acts and we're looking at it and we're saying that what we really need is to make a philosophical change in our department<font color="#E5E5E5"> and we need to</font>

<font color="#E5E5E5">have our entire</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> department</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> act as</font> ambassadors into the community<font color="#E5E5E5"> so with</font> the community oriented policing<font color="#E5E5E5"> being</font> just a few officers<font color="#CCCCCC"> if we can move it to</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">and we're in the process of that</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">creating the entire</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> department</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> having by</font>

<font color="#CCCCCC">n2</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> wanting to provide policing services</font> and policing services mean<font color="#CCCCCC"> quality of</font> <font color="#CCCCCC">life</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> community caretaking</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> vs law</font> enforcement which is writing tickets<font color="#E5E5E5"> and</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">arresting people so we're in the process</font> of making that those changes<font color="#CCCCCC"> how do</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> we</font>

do that<font color="#CCCCCC"> well a couple years ago</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> we put a</font> survey out to the community<font color="#CCCCCC"> we asked</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">what the interests were it in given</font> neighborhoods<font color="#CCCCCC"> we took the information</font> and we divided<font color="#CCCCCC"> napping</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> in 226 identified</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">neighborhoods many of those were</font>

identified by the community members in those areas some are historical<font color="#E5E5E5"> in that they were</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">housing projects that were put in many</font> years ago such as<font color="#CCCCCC"> country manor the</font> browns valley area<font color="#E5E5E5"> we put those in place</font>

and then we started doing community meetings<font color="#E5E5E5"> we take our survey information</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">we would take our members of our command</font> staff as well as officers<font color="#CCCCCC"> we would go</font> out into the<font color="#E5E5E5"> neighborhoods and we would</font> ask people what is it you want to see

from your<font color="#E5E5E5"> Police Department</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> we're really</font> striving to do more of a customized approach to how we provide law enforcement services<font color="#E5E5E5"> the policing</font> services for the community<font color="#E5E5E5"> because you</font> really can't apply the same needs<font color="#E5E5E5"> or</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> the</font>

<font color="#E5E5E5">service to the</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> I malaria as you do out</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">browns valley</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> there too</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> and</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> dyer</font> entirely different neighborhoods<font color="#E5E5E5"> they</font> have different needs different interests <font color="#E5E5E5">the same is true with old town or with</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">North</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> napa there are</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> just there's a lot</font>

of differences in what they want<font color="#CCCCCC"> there's</font> some consistent things<font color="#E5E5E5"> but there are a</font> lot of differences and we want to customize that approach<font color="#CCCCCC"> give our</font> community<font color="#CCCCCC"> what they need</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> the purpose</font> behind this is we really need to build

trust with our community<font color="#E5E5E5"> we really need</font> to get<font color="#E5E5E5"> to</font> the point where we have more interaction <font color="#CCCCCC">we need to have more positive</font> interaction with our community<font color="#CCCCCC"> I think</font> <font color="#CCCCCC">we do a very good job as it is</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> now but</font>

not all contacts are positive<font color="#E5E5E5"> so we want</font> to increase that we have put mechanisms in place already<font color="#E5E5E5"> that have helped us in</font> those areas<font color="#E5E5E5"> some of those are we do some</font> less traditional methods in<font color="#E5E5E5"> in our</font> department we have a homeless outreach

program<font color="#E5E5E5"> we have a lot of people who are</font> in town who<font color="#E5E5E5"> don't can't afford a place</font> to live<font color="#CCCCCC"> so we have a group of people</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">civilian employees who go out they</font> contact our homeless<font color="#E5E5E5"> they</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> if the person</font> needs a<font color="#E5E5E5"> driver's license so they can get</font>

a job or if they need to apply for<font color="#CCCCCC"> SSI</font> benefits<font color="#CCCCCC"> whatever they need if they need</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">section 8 housing that group of people</font> <font color="#CCCCCC">help</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> those individuals and their</font> homelessness<font color="#CCCCCC"> so that</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> they're less</font> vulnerable<font color="#CCCCCC"> are less susceptible to</font>

becoming victims or having to resort to crime to fulfill their needs<font color="#E5E5E5"> another</font> area that we we have addressed is we use we have a diversion program in our department<font color="#CCCCCC"> so use the version program we</font> have a contract employee from a private

group who comes in and she does a lot of work with juveniles to make sure that they<font color="#E5E5E5"> don't</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> as young people they don't</font> end up with a criminal record that's <font color="#E5E5E5">going to follow them in life and it's</font> going to preclude them from being

successful so we take as many of those cases we can we try to divert them out of the criminal justice system<font color="#CCCCCC"> we try</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> to</font> provide help for people instead of just holding them to the<font color="#CCCCCC"> cream in the</font>

criminal justice system<font color="#CCCCCC"> another area</font> that we've started recently is and this is with help from the county's health and human services<font color="#E5E5E5"> is that we have a</font> mental health worker who has a drug and alcohol<font color="#E5E5E5"> background</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> who's embedded</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> in our</font>

department for 20 hours a week<font color="#CCCCCC"> she helps</font> us with people with<font color="#E5E5E5"> mental health issues</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">as they are emerging instead of waiting</font> for those people<font color="#CCCCCC"> too</font> <font color="#CCCCCC">commit some sort of act that then forces</font> them into the criminal justice system

<font color="#CCCCCC">our goal our intent is to help people</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> as</font> much<font color="#E5E5E5"> as we possibly can</font> that's our focus<font color="#CCCCCC"> we have we're also</font> using a lot more social media to try to get in touch with people<font color="#E5E5E5"> i'm sure that a</font> lot of you have seen our messages that

come out either nixle<font color="#E5E5E5"> on facebook on</font> <font color="#CCCCCC">Twitter we're</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> trying to use those but</font> our<font color="#E5E5E5"> our real focus</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> is is trying to</font> reconnect with the community<font color="#E5E5E5"> have those</font> <font color="#CCCCCC">parties positive interactions were</font> closely<font color="#CCCCCC"> customize that</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> service and give</font>

what<font color="#E5E5E5"> I truly believe</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> napa once to</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">maintain the high quality of life issue</font> here<font color="#E5E5E5"> and that is that positive</font> interaction the policing<font color="#E5E5E5"> instead of law</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">enforcement</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> why napa I think nap</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> is an</font> ideal spot for it because we have

through the years we've hired very good quality people for<font color="#E5E5E5"> our department</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> we are</font> very selective<font color="#E5E5E5"> and who gets hired</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> we</font> want to<font color="#E5E5E5"> make sure that there are fit for</font> our agency<font color="#E5E5E5"> and that we are fit for them</font> <font color="#CCCCCC">we want to</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> make sure that they</font>

understand what it is that the community <font color="#E5E5E5">expect from them we want them to provide</font> that service<font color="#CCCCCC"> that's not to say that</font> we're not going to do law enforcement work because we're going to continue to do that but<font color="#E5E5E5"> it's really reaching out</font>

<font color="#E5E5E5">becoming a part of the community having</font> a deeper understanding of what the <font color="#E5E5E5">neighborhoods and what individuals in</font> this community<font color="#CCCCCC"> what and</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> working toward</font> that<font color="#CCCCCC"> so the other thing that we have is</font> we have a very engaged community<font color="#CCCCCC"> we have</font>

a very caring community<font color="#CCCCCC"> we have a very</font> giving community and with the help from the community here and with<font color="#E5E5E5"> the talent</font> that we have in the police department<font color="#CCCCCC"> i</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">truly believe that we can get to a place</font> where we provide you the service that

you expect from your<font color="#CCCCCC"> Police Department</font> thank you



Video Description

City of Napa Police Chief Steve Potter shares his idea of policing that connects with the community as part of the TEDxNapaValley 2015 "Redefining Success: changing direction mid-stream" event.

Steve's Event Photos are here - https://www.flickr.com/photos/tedxnapavalley/sets/72157652059669511

This video was produced by 360 Kreative Services (http://360kreative.com) in conjunction with 3 rock marketing (http://www.3rockmarketing.com)

Born and raised in Napa, California, Steve has more than three decades of law enforcement experience in Napa County. A proud public servant described by the mayor as a good communicator, problem solver and widely involved and respected in the community, Steve was appointed Police Chief in Napa in 2014. He is a current member of the Napa County Hispanic Chamber of Commerce and sits on the board of directors for Leadership Napa Valley. Steve is also an associate member of IACP (the International Association of Chiefs of Police), an associate member of CPCA (the California Police Chiefs Association), and a member of the California Peace Officers Association.

This talk was given at a TEDx event using the TED conference format but independently organized by a local community. Learn more at http://ted.com/tedx