French Subtitles for Measuring policing differently | Steve Potter | TEDxNapaValley



Subtitles / Closed Captions - French

<font color="#E5E5E5">tout au long de ma carrière et </font>

<font color="#E5E5E5">après mon point </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">Chef de la police , j'ai toujours </font> d'améliorer notre niveau de confiance avec le communauté et aussi de créer plus interactions positives avec le <font color="#E5E5E5">nous du public </font> regardons à travers le pays aujourd'hui et nous voyons

qu'il <font color="#E5E5E5">y a grand besoin d'un changement de </font> la façon dont nous la police et avec qui l' interaction que nous avons <font color="#E5E5E5">si peu </font> de fond <font color="#E5E5E5">historiquement la </font><font color="#CCCCCC">police </font> les <font color="#E5E5E5">ministères </font><font color="#CCCCCC">utilisent </font><font color="#E5E5E5">plusieurs mesures à à </font> prévoir leur successeur pour montrer leur

succès <font color="#CCCCCC">certains de ceux qui </font><font color="#E5E5E5">sont l'universel </font> rapport de la criminalité qui capture <font color="#E5E5E5">le la </font> nombre de crimes graves qui ont arrivé dans la communauté , <font color="#CCCCCC">il est rapporté </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">au </font><font color="#CCCCCC">gouvernement </font><font color="#E5E5E5">fédéral </font><font color="#CCCCCC">si vous </font><font color="#E5E5E5">conduisez </font> les chiffres vers le bas de <font color="#CCCCCC">votre succès que </font><font color="#E5E5E5">nous prenons </font>

nous mesurons le temps de garde répondant pour nos répartiteurs <font color="#CCCCCC">ils le temps de manipulation </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">et nous mesurons également le temps de réponse </font> pour nos agents obtenir sur les lieux de le crime il y a risque de défaut dans les

<font color="#E5E5E5">et que si des mesures de potentiel est </font> que vous avez vraiment besoin du crime de se produire et que vous avez besoin de vos flics à conduire très vite pour y arriver, afin de vous déclarer en toute sécurité et d'avoir un <font color="#CCCCCC">Service de police de succès , </font><font color="#E5E5E5">nous sommes pas </font>

différent nous avons <font color="#E5E5E5">mesuré les toujours ici </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">Napa </font><font color="#CCCCCC">mais nous pensons que c'est temps que nous </font> créer un changement , <font color="#E5E5E5">nous devons changer de la </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">mesures centrées sur la criminalité que nous utilisons </font> à plus du <font color="#E5E5E5">quartier sur la base </font>

modèle de police <font color="#E5E5E5">les mesures aident </font> établir un <font color="#E5E5E5">financement du </font><font color="#CCCCCC">fédéral </font> gouvernement pour la police communautaire <font color="#E5E5E5">programmes se mettent en place </font> la police communautaire <font color="#CCCCCC">est grande , il généralement </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">signifie que vous obtenez un certain nombre de </font>

les agents de votre département qui obtiennent attribué à interagir avec le public face à la <font color="#CCCCCC">qualité des questions de vie et de </font> gérer les <font color="#E5E5E5">relations publiques a besoin avec </font> leur qui est très bien , <font color="#E5E5E5">mais ce qu'il fait est - il </font>

crée le <font color="#E5E5E5">petit groupe d'officiers </font> qui <font color="#E5E5E5">sont , </font><font color="#CCCCCC">il est de leur responsabilité de faire </font> ces actes et nous regarder et nous disons que ce que nous avons vraiment besoin est de faire un changement philosophique dans notre département <font color="#E5E5E5">et nous devons </font>

<font color="#E5E5E5">ont toute notre </font><font color="#CCCCCC">département </font><font color="#E5E5E5">agir comme </font> ambassadeurs dans la communauté <font color="#E5E5E5">afin de </font> la police orientée vers la communauté <font color="#E5E5E5">être </font> quelques officiers <font color="#CCCCCC">si nous pouvons déplacer à </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">et nous sommes dans le processus de cette </font> la <font color="#E5E5E5">création de l'ensemble du </font><font color="#CCCCCC">département </font><font color="#E5E5E5">ayant par </font>

<font color="#CCCCCC">n2 </font><font color="#E5E5E5">vouloir fournir des services de police </font> et des services de police signifient la <font color="#CCCCCC">qualité de </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">communauté </font><font color="#CCCCCC">de vie </font><font color="#E5E5E5">Gardiennage </font><font color="#CCCCCC">vs loi </font> l' application qui est écrit <font color="#E5E5E5">et billets </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">arrêter les gens que nous sommes en train </font> de faire que ces changements <font color="#CCCCCC">comment </font><font color="#E5E5E5">pouvons-nous </font>

faire <font color="#CCCCCC">bien il y a quelques années </font><font color="#E5E5E5">nous avons mis un </font> enquête à la communauté , <font color="#CCCCCC">nous avons demandé </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">ce que les intérêts étaient en donnée </font> quartiers , <font color="#CCCCCC">nous avons pris l'information </font> et nous avons divisé la <font color="#CCCCCC">sieste </font><font color="#E5E5E5">dans 226 identifiés </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">quartiers beaucoup de ceux étaient </font>

identifiés par les membres de la communauté ces zones certains sont historiques <font color="#E5E5E5">en ce qu'ils étaient </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">projets de logements qui ont été mis dans un grand nombre </font> Il y a des années comme le <font color="#CCCCCC">pays le manoir </font> zone bruns de la vallée , <font color="#E5E5E5">nous mettons en place les </font>

puis nous avons commencé à faire la communauté réunions que <font color="#E5E5E5">nous prenons nos informations de l' enquête </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">nous prendrions nos membres de notre commande </font> le personnel ainsi que des officiers <font color="#CCCCCC">nous irions </font> out dans les <font color="#E5E5E5">quartiers et nous </font> demander aux gens quel est-il que vous voulez voir

de votre <font color="#E5E5E5">département de police , </font><font color="#CCCCCC">nous sommes vraiment </font> cherchant à faire plus d'une mesure approche de la façon dont nous fournissons la loi les services d'application de <font color="#E5E5E5">la police de </font> services pour la communauté <font color="#E5E5E5">parce que vous </font> ne peut vraiment pas appliquer les mêmes besoins <font color="#E5E5E5">ou </font>

<font color="#E5E5E5">service au </font><font color="#CCCCCC">paludisme I comme vous le faites sur </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">bruns vallée </font><font color="#CCCCCC">là aussi </font><font color="#E5E5E5">et </font><font color="#CCCCCC">teinturier </font> entièrement différents quartiers <font color="#E5E5E5">qu'ils </font> ont des besoins différents des intérêts différents <font color="#E5E5E5">la même chose est vraie avec la vieille ville ou avec </font> <font color="#CCCCCC">Napa </font><font color="#E5E5E5">Nord </font><font color="#CCCCCC">il y a </font><font color="#E5E5E5">juste il y a beaucoup </font>

des différences dans ce qu'ils veulent , <font color="#CCCCCC">il y a </font> certaines choses cohérentes <font color="#E5E5E5">mais il y a </font> beaucoup de différences et nous voulons personnaliser cette approche <font color="#CCCCCC">donner notre </font> communauté <font color="#CCCCCC">ce dont ils ont besoin dans </font><font color="#E5E5E5">le but </font> derrière cela est que nous devons vraiment construire

confiance avec notre communauté <font color="#E5E5E5">nous avons vraiment besoin </font> pour se rendre <font color="#E5E5E5">à </font> au point où nous avons plus d'interaction <font color="#CCCCCC">nous devons avoir plus positive </font> interaction avec notre communauté , <font color="#CCCCCC">je pense </font> <font color="#CCCCCC">nous faisons un très bon travail comme il est </font><font color="#E5E5E5">maintenant , mais </font>

pas tous les contacts sont positifs <font color="#E5E5E5">donc nous voulons </font> d'augmenter les mécanismes que nous avons mis déjà en place <font color="#E5E5E5">qui nous ont aidé à </font> ces domaines <font color="#E5E5E5">certains de ceux que nous faisons sont quelques - uns </font> méthodes moins traditionnelles dans <font color="#E5E5E5">notre </font> département, nous avons un rayonnement sans-abri

programme , <font color="#E5E5E5">nous avons beaucoup de gens qui sont </font> en ville qui <font color="#E5E5E5">ne peut pas se permettre un lieu </font> de vivre <font color="#CCCCCC">si nous avons un groupe de personnes </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">employés civils qui sortent , ils </font> contacter notre sans - abri , <font color="#E5E5E5">ils </font><font color="#CCCCCC">si la personne </font> a besoin <font color="#E5E5E5">d' un permis de conduire afin qu'ils puissent obtenir </font>

un emploi ou si elles doivent faire une demande de <font color="#CCCCCC">SSI </font> avantages <font color="#CCCCCC">tout ce dont ils ont besoin si elles ont besoin </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">section 8 logements de ce groupe de personnes </font> <font color="#CCCCCC">aider </font><font color="#E5E5E5">les individus et leur </font> sans - abri <font color="#CCCCCC">afin </font><font color="#E5E5E5">qu'ils soient moins </font> vulnérables <font color="#CCCCCC">sont moins sensibles à la </font>

deviennent des victimes ou d'avoir à recourir à des crime pour satisfaire leurs besoins <font color="#E5E5E5">encore </font> domaine que nous, nous avons abordé est que nous utilisons nous avons un programme de déjudiciarisation dans notre département <font color="#CCCCCC">afin d' utiliser le programme de la version que nous </font> un employé contractuel d'un privé

groupe qui vient et elle fait un grand nombre de travailler avec les jeunes pour faire en sorte que Ils <font color="#E5E5E5">ne en </font><font color="#CCCCCC">tant que jeunes , ils ne le font pas </font> se retrouver avec un casier judiciaire qui est <font color="#E5E5E5">va les suivre dans la vie et il est </font> va les empêcher d'être

réussi nous prenons donc le plus grand nombre de ces cas, nous pouvons nous essayons de les détourner de la système de justice pénale , <font color="#CCCCCC">nous essayons </font><font color="#E5E5E5">de </font> fournir une aide pour les personnes au lieu de simplement en les tenant à la <font color="#CCCCCC">crème dans le </font>

système de justice pénale une <font color="#CCCCCC">autre zone </font> que nous avons commencé récemment et cela est est avec l'aide de la santé du comté et des services humains <font color="#E5E5E5">est que nous avons un </font> travailleur en santé mentale qui a un médicament et <font color="#E5E5E5">fond d'alcool </font><font color="#CCCCCC">qui est ancrée </font><font color="#E5E5E5">dans notre </font>

service pendant 20 heures par semaine , <font color="#CCCCCC">elle aide </font> nous avec des personnes ayant des <font color="#E5E5E5">problèmes de santé mentale </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">comme ils apparaissent au lieu d'attendre </font> pour ces gens <font color="#CCCCCC">trop </font> <font color="#CCCCCC">commettre une sorte d'acte alors forces </font> eux dans le système de justice pénale

<font color="#CCCCCC">notre objectif notre intention est d'aider les gens </font><font color="#E5E5E5">comme </font> autant <font color="#E5E5E5">que nous le pouvons </font> qui est notre objectif , <font color="#CCCCCC">nous avons nous sommes aussi </font> en utilisant les médias sociaux beaucoup plus pour essayer de entrer en contact avec des gens que <font color="#E5E5E5">je suis sûr que </font> Beaucoup d'entre vous ont vu nos messages

sortir soit Nixle <font color="#E5E5E5">sur facebook sur </font> <font color="#CCCCCC">Twitter nous </font><font color="#E5E5E5">essayons de les utiliser , mais </font> notre <font color="#E5E5E5">notre objectif réel </font><font color="#CCCCCC">est tente de </font> renouer avec la communauté <font color="#E5E5E5">ont les </font> <font color="#CCCCCC">partis interactions positives étaient </font> <font color="#CCCCCC">personnaliser étroitement ce </font><font color="#E5E5E5">service et donner </font>

ce que <font color="#E5E5E5">je crois vraiment </font><font color="#CCCCCC">napa une fois pour </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">maintenir la haute qualité de l' émission de la vie </font> ici <font color="#E5E5E5">et qui est que positif </font> l' interaction de la police au <font color="#E5E5E5">lieu de la loi </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">application </font><font color="#CCCCCC">pourquoi napa Je pense que la sieste </font><font color="#E5E5E5">est un </font> endroit idéal pour cela parce que nous avons

à travers les années, nous avons engagé une très bonne des gens de qualité pour <font color="#E5E5E5">notre département , </font><font color="#CCCCCC">nous sommes </font> très sélectif <font color="#E5E5E5">et qui obtient </font><font color="#CCCCCC">nous avons </font><font color="#E5E5E5">loué </font> voulez <font color="#E5E5E5">vous assurer qu'il ya ajustement pour </font> notre agence <font color="#E5E5E5">et que nous sommes en forme pour eux </font> <font color="#CCCCCC">nous voulons nous </font><font color="#E5E5E5">assurer qu'ils </font>

comprendre ce qu'il est que la communauté <font color="#E5E5E5">attendons d'eux que nous voulons qu'ils fournissent </font> ce service <font color="#CCCCCC">qui ne veut pas dire que </font> on ne va pas faire application de la loi travailler parce que nous allons continuer à faire, mais <font color="#E5E5E5">il est vraiment tendre la main </font>

<font color="#E5E5E5">devenir une partie de la communauté ayant </font> une compréhension plus profonde de ce que le <font color="#E5E5E5">quartiers et quels individus </font> cette communauté <font color="#CCCCCC">et de </font><font color="#E5E5E5">travailler à </font><font color="#CCCCCC">ce que </font> que <font color="#CCCCCC">tant l'autre chose que nous avons est </font> nous avons une communauté très engagée , <font color="#CCCCCC">nous avons </font>

une communauté très attentionné <font color="#CCCCCC">nous avons une très </font> donnant communauté et avec l'aide de la communauté ici et avec <font color="#E5E5E5">le talent </font> que nous avons dans le département de la police <font color="#CCCCCC">i </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">croyons vraiment que nous pouvons arriver à un endroit </font> où nous vous offrons le service

vous attendez de votre <font color="#CCCCCC">Département de Police </font> Je vous remercie



Video Description

City of Napa Police Chief Steve Potter shares his idea of policing that connects with the community as part of the TEDxNapaValley 2015 "Redefining Success: changing direction mid-stream" event.

Steve's Event Photos are here - https://www.flickr.com/photos/tedxnapavalley/sets/72157652059669511

This video was produced by 360 Kreative Services (http://360kreative.com) in conjunction with 3 rock marketing (http://www.3rockmarketing.com)

Born and raised in Napa, California, Steve has more than three decades of law enforcement experience in Napa County. A proud public servant described by the mayor as a good communicator, problem solver and widely involved and respected in the community, Steve was appointed Police Chief in Napa in 2014. He is a current member of the Napa County Hispanic Chamber of Commerce and sits on the board of directors for Leadership Napa Valley. Steve is also an associate member of IACP (the International Association of Chiefs of Police), an associate member of CPCA (the California Police Chiefs Association), and a member of the California Peace Officers Association.

This talk was given at a TEDx event using the TED conference format but independently organized by a local community. Learn more at http://ted.com/tedx

English Subtitles for Measuring policing differently | Steve Potter | TEDxNapaValley



Subtitles / Closed Captions - English

<font color="#E5E5E5">throughout my career and</font>

<font color="#E5E5E5">after my point</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">Chief of Police I've always</font> to improve our level of trust with the community and also to create more positive interactions with the public<font color="#E5E5E5"> we</font> look across the country today and we see

that<font color="#E5E5E5"> there is great need for a change in</font> the way that we police and in with that interaction that we have<font color="#E5E5E5"> so little bit</font> of background<font color="#E5E5E5"> historically</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> police</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">departments</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> use</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> several measures to to</font> predict their successor to show their

success<font color="#CCCCCC"> some of those</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> are the universal</font> crime report which captures<font color="#E5E5E5"> the the</font> number of serious crimes that have happened in the community<font color="#CCCCCC"> it's reported</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">to the federal</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> government if you</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> drive</font> the numbers down<font color="#CCCCCC"> your successful</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> we take</font>

we measure the call answering time for our dispatchers<font color="#CCCCCC"> they're handling time</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">and we also measure the response time</font> for our officers getting to the scene of the crime there's potential for flaw in those

measurements<font color="#E5E5E5"> so and that potential is</font> that you really need the crime to occur and that you need your cops to drive really fast to get there in order to declare yourself safe and to have a successful<font color="#CCCCCC"> Police Department</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> we're no</font>

different we've<font color="#E5E5E5"> measured those forever here in</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">Napa</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> but we think that is time that we</font> create change<font color="#E5E5E5"> we need to change from the</font> crime<font color="#E5E5E5"> centric measurements that we use</font> to more of the<font color="#E5E5E5"> neighborhood based</font>

policing model<font color="#E5E5E5"> the measurements help</font> establish<font color="#E5E5E5"> funding from the the</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> federal</font> government for community policing <font color="#E5E5E5">programs get put in place</font> community policing<font color="#CCCCCC"> is great it generally</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">means that you get a certain number of</font>

officers in your department who get assigned to interact with the public to deal with<font color="#CCCCCC"> quality of life issues and to</font> handle the<font color="#E5E5E5"> public relations needs with</font> them that's great<font color="#E5E5E5"> but what it does is it</font>

creates the<font color="#E5E5E5"> a small group of officers</font> who<font color="#E5E5E5"> are</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> it's their responsibility to do</font> those acts and we're looking at it and we're saying that what we really need is to make a philosophical change in our department<font color="#E5E5E5"> and we need to</font>

<font color="#E5E5E5">have our entire</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> department</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> act as</font> ambassadors into the community<font color="#E5E5E5"> so with</font> the community oriented policing<font color="#E5E5E5"> being</font> just a few officers<font color="#CCCCCC"> if we can move it to</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">and we're in the process of that</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">creating the entire</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> department</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> having by</font>

<font color="#CCCCCC">n2</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> wanting to provide policing services</font> and policing services mean<font color="#CCCCCC"> quality of</font> <font color="#CCCCCC">life</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> community caretaking</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> vs law</font> enforcement which is writing tickets<font color="#E5E5E5"> and</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">arresting people so we're in the process</font> of making that those changes<font color="#CCCCCC"> how do</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> we</font>

do that<font color="#CCCCCC"> well a couple years ago</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> we put a</font> survey out to the community<font color="#CCCCCC"> we asked</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">what the interests were it in given</font> neighborhoods<font color="#CCCCCC"> we took the information</font> and we divided<font color="#CCCCCC"> napping</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> in 226 identified</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">neighborhoods many of those were</font>

identified by the community members in those areas some are historical<font color="#E5E5E5"> in that they were</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">housing projects that were put in many</font> years ago such as<font color="#CCCCCC"> country manor the</font> browns valley area<font color="#E5E5E5"> we put those in place</font>

and then we started doing community meetings<font color="#E5E5E5"> we take our survey information</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">we would take our members of our command</font> staff as well as officers<font color="#CCCCCC"> we would go</font> out into the<font color="#E5E5E5"> neighborhoods and we would</font> ask people what is it you want to see

from your<font color="#E5E5E5"> Police Department</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> we're really</font> striving to do more of a customized approach to how we provide law enforcement services<font color="#E5E5E5"> the policing</font> services for the community<font color="#E5E5E5"> because you</font> really can't apply the same needs<font color="#E5E5E5"> or</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> the</font>

<font color="#E5E5E5">service to the</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> I malaria as you do out</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">browns valley</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> there too</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> and</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> dyer</font> entirely different neighborhoods<font color="#E5E5E5"> they</font> have different needs different interests <font color="#E5E5E5">the same is true with old town or with</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">North</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> napa there are</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> just there's a lot</font>

of differences in what they want<font color="#CCCCCC"> there's</font> some consistent things<font color="#E5E5E5"> but there are a</font> lot of differences and we want to customize that approach<font color="#CCCCCC"> give our</font> community<font color="#CCCCCC"> what they need</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> the purpose</font> behind this is we really need to build

trust with our community<font color="#E5E5E5"> we really need</font> to get<font color="#E5E5E5"> to</font> the point where we have more interaction <font color="#CCCCCC">we need to have more positive</font> interaction with our community<font color="#CCCCCC"> I think</font> <font color="#CCCCCC">we do a very good job as it is</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> now but</font>

not all contacts are positive<font color="#E5E5E5"> so we want</font> to increase that we have put mechanisms in place already<font color="#E5E5E5"> that have helped us in</font> those areas<font color="#E5E5E5"> some of those are we do some</font> less traditional methods in<font color="#E5E5E5"> in our</font> department we have a homeless outreach

program<font color="#E5E5E5"> we have a lot of people who are</font> in town who<font color="#E5E5E5"> don't can't afford a place</font> to live<font color="#CCCCCC"> so we have a group of people</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">civilian employees who go out they</font> contact our homeless<font color="#E5E5E5"> they</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> if the person</font> needs a<font color="#E5E5E5"> driver's license so they can get</font>

a job or if they need to apply for<font color="#CCCCCC"> SSI</font> benefits<font color="#CCCCCC"> whatever they need if they need</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">section 8 housing that group of people</font> <font color="#CCCCCC">help</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> those individuals and their</font> homelessness<font color="#CCCCCC"> so that</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> they're less</font> vulnerable<font color="#CCCCCC"> are less susceptible to</font>

becoming victims or having to resort to crime to fulfill their needs<font color="#E5E5E5"> another</font> area that we we have addressed is we use we have a diversion program in our department<font color="#CCCCCC"> so use the version program we</font> have a contract employee from a private

group who comes in and she does a lot of work with juveniles to make sure that they<font color="#E5E5E5"> don't</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> as young people they don't</font> end up with a criminal record that's <font color="#E5E5E5">going to follow them in life and it's</font> going to preclude them from being

successful so we take as many of those cases we can we try to divert them out of the criminal justice system<font color="#CCCCCC"> we try</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> to</font> provide help for people instead of just holding them to the<font color="#CCCCCC"> cream in the</font>

criminal justice system<font color="#CCCCCC"> another area</font> that we've started recently is and this is with help from the county's health and human services<font color="#E5E5E5"> is that we have a</font> mental health worker who has a drug and alcohol<font color="#E5E5E5"> background</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> who's embedded</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> in our</font>

department for 20 hours a week<font color="#CCCCCC"> she helps</font> us with people with<font color="#E5E5E5"> mental health issues</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">as they are emerging instead of waiting</font> for those people<font color="#CCCCCC"> too</font> <font color="#CCCCCC">commit some sort of act that then forces</font> them into the criminal justice system

<font color="#CCCCCC">our goal our intent is to help people</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> as</font> much<font color="#E5E5E5"> as we possibly can</font> that's our focus<font color="#CCCCCC"> we have we're also</font> using a lot more social media to try to get in touch with people<font color="#E5E5E5"> i'm sure that a</font> lot of you have seen our messages that

come out either nixle<font color="#E5E5E5"> on facebook on</font> <font color="#CCCCCC">Twitter we're</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> trying to use those but</font> our<font color="#E5E5E5"> our real focus</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> is is trying to</font> reconnect with the community<font color="#E5E5E5"> have those</font> <font color="#CCCCCC">parties positive interactions were</font> closely<font color="#CCCCCC"> customize that</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> service and give</font>

what<font color="#E5E5E5"> I truly believe</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> napa once to</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">maintain the high quality of life issue</font> here<font color="#E5E5E5"> and that is that positive</font> interaction the policing<font color="#E5E5E5"> instead of law</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">enforcement</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> why napa I think nap</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> is an</font> ideal spot for it because we have

through the years we've hired very good quality people for<font color="#E5E5E5"> our department</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> we are</font> very selective<font color="#E5E5E5"> and who gets hired</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> we</font> want to<font color="#E5E5E5"> make sure that there are fit for</font> our agency<font color="#E5E5E5"> and that we are fit for them</font> <font color="#CCCCCC">we want to</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> make sure that they</font>

understand what it is that the community <font color="#E5E5E5">expect from them we want them to provide</font> that service<font color="#CCCCCC"> that's not to say that</font> we're not going to do law enforcement work because we're going to continue to do that but<font color="#E5E5E5"> it's really reaching out</font>

<font color="#E5E5E5">becoming a part of the community having</font> a deeper understanding of what the <font color="#E5E5E5">neighborhoods and what individuals in</font> this community<font color="#CCCCCC"> what and</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> working toward</font> that<font color="#CCCCCC"> so the other thing that we have is</font> we have a very engaged community<font color="#CCCCCC"> we have</font>

a very caring community<font color="#CCCCCC"> we have a very</font> giving community and with the help from the community here and with<font color="#E5E5E5"> the talent</font> that we have in the police department<font color="#CCCCCC"> i</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">truly believe that we can get to a place</font> where we provide you the service that

you expect from your<font color="#CCCCCC"> Police Department</font> thank you



Video Description

City of Napa Police Chief Steve Potter shares his idea of policing that connects with the community as part of the TEDxNapaValley 2015 "Redefining Success: changing direction mid-stream" event.

Steve's Event Photos are here - https://www.flickr.com/photos/tedxnapavalley/sets/72157652059669511

This video was produced by 360 Kreative Services (http://360kreative.com) in conjunction with 3 rock marketing (http://www.3rockmarketing.com)

Born and raised in Napa, California, Steve has more than three decades of law enforcement experience in Napa County. A proud public servant described by the mayor as a good communicator, problem solver and widely involved and respected in the community, Steve was appointed Police Chief in Napa in 2014. He is a current member of the Napa County Hispanic Chamber of Commerce and sits on the board of directors for Leadership Napa Valley. Steve is also an associate member of IACP (the International Association of Chiefs of Police), an associate member of CPCA (the California Police Chiefs Association), and a member of the California Peace Officers Association.

This talk was given at a TEDx event using the TED conference format but independently organized by a local community. Learn more at http://ted.com/tedx