German Subtitles for Measuring policing differently | Steve Potter | TEDxNapaValley



Subtitles / Closed Captions - German

<font color="#E5E5E5">in meiner Karriere und </font>

<font color="#E5E5E5">nach meinem Punkt </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">Chef der Polizei habe ich immer </font> unser Maß an Vertrauen zu verbessern, mit der Gemeinschaft und auch mehr zu schaffen positive Interaktionen mit der Öffentlichkeit <font color="#E5E5E5">wir </font> Blick über das Land heute und wir sehen,

dass <font color="#E5E5E5">es großen Bedarf für eine Änderung </font> die Möglichkeit, dass wir die Polizei und in mit, dass Interaktion , die wir <font color="#E5E5E5">so wenig haben </font> der Hintergrund <font color="#E5E5E5">historisch </font><font color="#CCCCCC">Polizei </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">Abteilungen </font><font color="#CCCCCC">verwenden </font><font color="#E5E5E5">mehrere Maßnahmen zur </font> vorhersagen, ihre Nachfolger zu zeigen, ihre

Erfolg <font color="#CCCCCC">einige von denen </font><font color="#E5E5E5">sind die universelle </font> Kriminalität Bericht, <font color="#E5E5E5">den die fängt die </font> Zahl der schweren Verbrechen, die haben geschah in der Gemeinschaft <font color="#CCCCCC">es wird berichtet , </font> <font color="#CCCCCC">wenn Sie </font><font color="#E5E5E5">an die </font><font color="#CCCCCC">Bundesregierung </font><font color="#E5E5E5">treiben </font> die Zahlen Sie <font color="#CCCCCC">Ihre erfolgreichen </font><font color="#E5E5E5">wir nehmen </font>

wir messen die Anrufzeit die Beantwortung für unsere Disponenten <font color="#CCCCCC">sie Bearbeitungszeit </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">und wir messen auch die Reaktionszeit </font> für unsere Offiziere, um die Szene immer von das Verbrechen es gibt für Fehler in denen Potential

Messungen <font color="#E5E5E5">so und das Potential </font> dass Sie benötigen das Verbrechen wirklich auftreten und dass Sie Ihre Polizisten müssen zu fahren wirklich schnell dorthin zu gelangen, um erklären Sie sich sicher und haben erfolgreiche <font color="#CCCCCC">Polizeiabteilung </font><font color="#E5E5E5">sind wir nicht </font>

anders wir haben <font color="#E5E5E5">diejenigen , für immer hier gemessen in </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">Napa , </font><font color="#CCCCCC">aber wir denken , dass die Zeit ist , dass wir </font> schaffen Änderung <font color="#E5E5E5">müssen wir aus der Veränderung </font> Kriminalität <font color="#E5E5E5">centric Messungen , die wir verwenden </font> um mehr von der <font color="#E5E5E5">Nachbarschaft basiert </font>

Polizei Modell <font color="#E5E5E5">die Messungen helfen </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">Mittel aus dem </font><font color="#CCCCCC">Bundes etablieren </font><font color="#E5E5E5">der </font> Regierung für Community Policing <font color="#E5E5E5">Programme an Ort und Stelle zu bekommen setzen </font> Community Policing <font color="#CCCCCC">ist groß es im Allgemeinen </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">bedeutet , dass Sie eine bestimmte Anzahl erhalten von </font>

Offiziere in Ihrer Abteilung, die erhalten zugewiesen mit der Öffentlichkeit zu interagieren, um befassen sich mit <font color="#CCCCCC">Fragen der Lebensqualität und zu </font> behandeln die <font color="#E5E5E5">Öffentlichkeitsarbeit muss mit </font> Sie das ist toll , <font color="#E5E5E5">aber was es tut , ist es </font>

schafft die <font color="#E5E5E5">eine kleine Gruppe von Offizieren </font> wer <font color="#CCCCCC">es ist ihre Verantwortung zu tun </font> diese Handlungen und wir es bei der Suche und wir sagen, dass das, was wir wirklich brauchen, ist um unsere eine philosophische Veränderung in Abteilung <font color="#E5E5E5">und wir müssen </font>

<font color="#E5E5E5">haben unsere ganze </font><font color="#CCCCCC">Abteilung </font><font color="#E5E5E5">fungieren als </font> Botschafter in der Gemeinde <font color="#E5E5E5">so mit </font> die Gemeinschaft orientierte Polizei <font color="#E5E5E5">Wesen </font> nur ein paar Offiziere , <font color="#CCCCCC">wenn wir sie bewegen können </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">und wir sind in den Prozess der , dass </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">die gesamte </font><font color="#CCCCCC">Abteilung zu </font><font color="#E5E5E5">schaffen, die durch </font>

<font color="#CCCCCC">n2 </font><font color="#E5E5E5">wollen Polizeidienste zur Verfügung zu stellen </font> und Polizeidienste bedeuten <font color="#CCCCCC">Qualität </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">Lebensgemeinschaft </font><font color="#CCCCCC">vs Gesetz </font><font color="#E5E5E5">Bewachungs- </font> Durchsetzung , die schreibt Tickets <font color="#E5E5E5">und </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">verhaften Menschen , so dass wir in den Prozess sind </font> zu machen , dass diese Veränderungen , <font color="#CCCCCC">wie </font><font color="#E5E5E5">wir </font><font color="#CCCCCC">tun </font>

tun , dass <font color="#CCCCCC">auch vor ein paar Jahren </font><font color="#E5E5E5">haben wir ein </font> Umfrage, um die Gemeinschaft , die <font color="#CCCCCC">wir gefragt </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">was die Interessen waren es in bestimmten </font> Nachbarschaften <font color="#CCCCCC">haben wir die Informationen </font> und wir geteilt <font color="#E5E5E5">in 226 identifiziert </font><font color="#CCCCCC">napping </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">Nachbarschaften viele von denen waren </font>

die von den Mitgliedern der Gemeinschaft identifiziert in jene Bereiche einige sind <font color="#E5E5E5">historische, dass sie </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">Wohnprojekte , die in vielen gesetzt wurden </font> Vor solchen Jahren als <font color="#CCCCCC">Landsitz der </font> Braun Talbereich <font color="#E5E5E5">wir diejenigen in Kraft gesetzt </font>

und dann begannen wir Gemeinschaft tun Treffen <font color="#E5E5E5">wir nehmen unsere Umfrageergebnisse </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">wir würden unsere Mitglieder unserer Kommando übernehmen </font> sowie Offiziere Mitarbeiter <font color="#CCCCCC">würden wir gehen </font> hinaus in die <font color="#E5E5E5">Stadtteile und wir würden </font> Leute fragen, was ist es Sie sehen möchten,

von Ihrer <font color="#E5E5E5">Police Department </font><font color="#CCCCCC">sind wir wirklich </font> Streben eher eine maßgeschneiderte zu tun Ansatz, wie wir bieten Gesetz Strafverfolgungsbehörden <font color="#E5E5E5">der Polizei </font> Dienste für die Gemeinschaft , <font color="#E5E5E5">weil Sie </font> kann es wirklich nicht den gleichen Bedarf <font color="#E5E5E5">oder </font><font color="#CCCCCC">die Anwendung </font>

<font color="#E5E5E5">Dienst an der </font><font color="#CCCCCC">ich Malaria wie Sie aus </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">Braun- Tal </font><font color="#CCCCCC">auch dort </font><font color="#E5E5E5">und </font><font color="#CCCCCC">Färber </font> ganz andere Nachbarschaften <font color="#E5E5E5">sie </font> haben unterschiedliche Bedürfnisse unterschiedliche Interessen <font color="#E5E5E5">das gleiche gilt mit Altstadt oder mit </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">Nord </font><font color="#CCCCCC">napa gibt es </font><font color="#E5E5E5">nur eine Menge gibt es </font>

Unterschiede in dem, was sie wollen , <font color="#CCCCCC">es gibt </font> einige konsistente Dinge , <font color="#E5E5E5">aber es gibt eine </font> viele Unterschiede, und wir wollen anpassen , diesen Ansatz <font color="#CCCCCC">geben unseren </font> Gemeinschaft , <font color="#CCCCCC">was sie </font><font color="#E5E5E5">den Zweck </font><font color="#CCCCCC">brauchen </font> dahinter ist, brauchen wir wirklich bauen

Vertrauen mit unserer Gemeinschaft , die <font color="#E5E5E5">wir wirklich brauchen </font> zu erhalten , der Punkt, wo wir mehr Interaktion <font color="#CCCCCC">wir brauchen mehr positive zu haben </font> Interaktion mit unserer <font color="#CCCCCC">Ich denke , </font> <font color="#CCCCCC">wir machen einen sehr guten Job , wie es </font><font color="#E5E5E5">jetzt </font><font color="#CCCCCC">ist </font><font color="#E5E5E5">aber </font>

sind nicht alle Kontakte positiv , <font color="#E5E5E5">so dass wir wollen </font> zu erhöhen, dass wir setzen Mechanismen an Ort und Stelle bereits , <font color="#E5E5E5">dass haben uns geholfen , in </font> jene Bereiche , <font color="#E5E5E5">von denen einige sind wir einige tun </font> weniger traditionelle Methoden in <font color="#E5E5E5">unserer </font> Abteilung haben wir eine obdachlose Outreach

Programm <font color="#E5E5E5">haben wir eine Menge Leute , die sind </font> in der Stadt , die sich <font color="#E5E5E5">leisten nicht , kann nicht einen Platz </font> leben , um <font color="#CCCCCC">so haben wir eine Gruppe von Menschen , </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">zivile Mitarbeiter , die sie gehen </font> kontaktieren Sie unsere obdachlosen <font color="#E5E5E5">sie , </font><font color="#CCCCCC">wenn die Person , </font> braucht einen <font color="#E5E5E5">Führerschein , so dass sie bekommen können </font>

ein Job oder wenn sie für <font color="#CCCCCC">SSI bewerben </font> Vorteile , <font color="#CCCCCC">was sie brauchen , wenn sie brauchen </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">Abschnitt 8 Gehäuse , die Gruppe von Menschen , </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">die Personen </font><font color="#CCCCCC">helfen </font><font color="#E5E5E5">und ihre </font> Obdachlosigkeit , <font color="#CCCCCC">so dass </font><font color="#E5E5E5">sie weniger </font> verletzbar <font color="#CCCCCC">sind weniger anfällig für </font>

zu Opfern oder mit zu greifen Kriminalität ihre Bedürfnisse <font color="#E5E5E5">noch zu erfüllen </font> Gebiet, das wir wir angesprochen haben, ist, dass wir verwenden wir haben eine Umleitung Programm in unserem Abteilung <font color="#CCCCCC">so die Version Programm verwenden wir </font> haben einen Vertrag Mitarbeiter von einem privaten

Gruppe, die in und kommt sie macht eine Menge mit Jugendlichen arbeiten, um sicherzustellen, dass sie <font color="#E5E5E5">nicht </font><font color="#CCCCCC">als junge Menschen , die sie nicht tun </font> am Ende mit einem Strafregister auf, das ist <font color="#E5E5E5">gehen sie im Leben zu folgen und es ist </font> gehen ausschließen, dass sie von zu sein

erfolgreich so nehmen wir so viele dieser Fälle können wir wir versuchen, sie aus dem abzulenken Strafjustiz <font color="#CCCCCC">wir </font><font color="#E5E5E5">versuchen, </font> bieten Hilfe für Menschen statt nur Halten sie die <font color="#CCCCCC">Creme in die </font>

Strafjustiz <font color="#CCCCCC">ein weiterer Bereich , </font> dass wir haben vor kurzem ist und diese gestartet mit Hilfe ist von der Gesundheit des Kreis und menschliche Leistungen <font color="#E5E5E5">ist , dass wir eine haben </font> psychische Gesundheit der Arbeitnehmer, die ein Medikament hat und Alkohol <font color="#E5E5E5">Hintergrund , </font><font color="#CCCCCC">die </font><font color="#E5E5E5">in unserer </font><font color="#CCCCCC">eingebettet ist </font>

Abteilung für 20 Stunden in der Woche <font color="#CCCCCC">hilft sie </font> uns mit Menschen mit <font color="#E5E5E5">psychischen Problemen </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">wie sie entstehen , anstatt zu warten </font> für jene Menschen <font color="#CCCCCC">zu </font> <font color="#CCCCCC">eine Art von Handlung begehen , die dann Kräfte </font> sie in der Strafjustiz

<font color="#CCCCCC">unser Ziel , unsere Absicht ist es, Menschen zu helfen , </font><font color="#E5E5E5">wie </font> viel <font color="#E5E5E5">wie wir können möglicherweise </font> das ist unser Fokus <font color="#CCCCCC">haben wir wir sind auch </font> viel mehr Social Media zu versuchen, in Kontakt mit Menschen <font color="#E5E5E5">bin ich sicher , dass ein </font> Viele von Ihnen haben unsere Nachrichten gesehen, dass

kommen entweder Nixle <font color="#E5E5E5">auf Facebook auf </font> <font color="#CCCCCC">Twitter wir </font><font color="#E5E5E5">versuchen , diejenigen aber zu verwenden </font> unsere <font color="#E5E5E5">unsere eigentliche Schwerpunkt </font><font color="#CCCCCC">ist versucht, </font> wieder mit der Gemeinde <font color="#E5E5E5">haben diejenigen , </font> <font color="#CCCCCC">Parteien positive Wechselwirkungen waren </font> <font color="#CCCCCC">anpassen eng , dass </font><font color="#E5E5E5">Service und geben </font>

was <font color="#E5E5E5">ich wirklich </font><font color="#CCCCCC">einmal </font><font color="#E5E5E5">glauben </font><font color="#CCCCCC">napa </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">die hohe Lebensqualität Ausgabe beibehalten </font> hier <font color="#E5E5E5">und das ist , dass positive </font> Interaktion der Polizei <font color="#E5E5E5">statt des Gesetzes </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">Durchsetzung </font><font color="#CCCCCC">warum napa Ich denke , Nickerchen </font><font color="#E5E5E5">ein ist </font> idealer Ort für sie, weil wir

im Laufe der Jahre haben wir sehr gut angestellt Qualität Menschen für <font color="#E5E5E5">unsere Abteilung </font><font color="#CCCCCC">sind wir </font> sehr selektiv <font color="#E5E5E5">und wer </font><font color="#CCCCCC">wir </font><font color="#E5E5E5">angestellt wird </font> wollen <font color="#E5E5E5">sicherstellen, dass es fit für </font> unsere Agentur <font color="#E5E5E5">und wir sind fit für sie </font> <font color="#CCCCCC">Wir wollen </font><font color="#E5E5E5">sicherstellen, dass sie </font>

zu verstehen, was es, dass die Gemeinschaft <font color="#E5E5E5">erwarten von ihnen , dass wir wollen , dass sie zu bieten </font> dass <font color="#CCCCCC">Service, um nicht zu sagen ist , dass </font> wir gehen zu tun Strafverfolgung nicht arbeiten, weil wir fortsetzen wirst tun, aber <font color="#E5E5E5">es ist wirklich heraus erreichen </font>

<font color="#E5E5E5">ein Teil der Gemeinschaft zu werden, die </font> ein tieferes Verständnis dessen, was die <font color="#E5E5E5">Nachbarschaften und was Menschen in </font> diese Gemeinschaft , <font color="#CCCCCC">was und </font><font color="#E5E5E5">arbeiten in Richtung </font> dass <font color="#CCCCCC">so die andere Sache , die wir haben , ist </font> Wir haben eine sehr engagierte Gemeinschaft , die <font color="#CCCCCC">wir haben </font>

eine sehr fürsorgliche Gemeinschaft <font color="#CCCCCC">haben wir eine sehr </font> geben Gemeinschaft und mit Hilfe von die Gemeinde hier und mit <font color="#E5E5E5">dem Talent </font> dass wir bei der Polizei , <font color="#CCCCCC">ich habe </font> <font color="#E5E5E5">wirklich glauben , dass wir an einen Ort bekommen können </font> wo wir bieten Ihnen den Service, den

erwarten Sie von Ihrem <font color="#CCCCCC">Police Department </font> Danke



Video Description

City of Napa Police Chief Steve Potter shares his idea of policing that connects with the community as part of the TEDxNapaValley 2015 "Redefining Success: changing direction mid-stream" event.

Steve's Event Photos are here - https://www.flickr.com/photos/tedxnapavalley/sets/72157652059669511

This video was produced by 360 Kreative Services (http://360kreative.com) in conjunction with 3 rock marketing (http://www.3rockmarketing.com)

Born and raised in Napa, California, Steve has more than three decades of law enforcement experience in Napa County. A proud public servant described by the mayor as a good communicator, problem solver and widely involved and respected in the community, Steve was appointed Police Chief in Napa in 2014. He is a current member of the Napa County Hispanic Chamber of Commerce and sits on the board of directors for Leadership Napa Valley. Steve is also an associate member of IACP (the International Association of Chiefs of Police), an associate member of CPCA (the California Police Chiefs Association), and a member of the California Peace Officers Association.

This talk was given at a TEDx event using the TED conference format but independently organized by a local community. Learn more at http://ted.com/tedx

English Subtitles for Measuring policing differently | Steve Potter | TEDxNapaValley



Subtitles / Closed Captions - English

<font color="#E5E5E5">throughout my career and</font>

<font color="#E5E5E5">after my point</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">Chief of Police I've always</font> to improve our level of trust with the community and also to create more positive interactions with the public<font color="#E5E5E5"> we</font> look across the country today and we see

that<font color="#E5E5E5"> there is great need for a change in</font> the way that we police and in with that interaction that we have<font color="#E5E5E5"> so little bit</font> of background<font color="#E5E5E5"> historically</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> police</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">departments</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> use</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> several measures to to</font> predict their successor to show their

success<font color="#CCCCCC"> some of those</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> are the universal</font> crime report which captures<font color="#E5E5E5"> the the</font> number of serious crimes that have happened in the community<font color="#CCCCCC"> it's reported</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">to the federal</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> government if you</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> drive</font> the numbers down<font color="#CCCCCC"> your successful</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> we take</font>

we measure the call answering time for our dispatchers<font color="#CCCCCC"> they're handling time</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">and we also measure the response time</font> for our officers getting to the scene of the crime there's potential for flaw in those

measurements<font color="#E5E5E5"> so and that potential is</font> that you really need the crime to occur and that you need your cops to drive really fast to get there in order to declare yourself safe and to have a successful<font color="#CCCCCC"> Police Department</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> we're no</font>

different we've<font color="#E5E5E5"> measured those forever here in</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">Napa</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> but we think that is time that we</font> create change<font color="#E5E5E5"> we need to change from the</font> crime<font color="#E5E5E5"> centric measurements that we use</font> to more of the<font color="#E5E5E5"> neighborhood based</font>

policing model<font color="#E5E5E5"> the measurements help</font> establish<font color="#E5E5E5"> funding from the the</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> federal</font> government for community policing <font color="#E5E5E5">programs get put in place</font> community policing<font color="#CCCCCC"> is great it generally</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">means that you get a certain number of</font>

officers in your department who get assigned to interact with the public to deal with<font color="#CCCCCC"> quality of life issues and to</font> handle the<font color="#E5E5E5"> public relations needs with</font> them that's great<font color="#E5E5E5"> but what it does is it</font>

creates the<font color="#E5E5E5"> a small group of officers</font> who<font color="#E5E5E5"> are</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> it's their responsibility to do</font> those acts and we're looking at it and we're saying that what we really need is to make a philosophical change in our department<font color="#E5E5E5"> and we need to</font>

<font color="#E5E5E5">have our entire</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> department</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> act as</font> ambassadors into the community<font color="#E5E5E5"> so with</font> the community oriented policing<font color="#E5E5E5"> being</font> just a few officers<font color="#CCCCCC"> if we can move it to</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">and we're in the process of that</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">creating the entire</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> department</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> having by</font>

<font color="#CCCCCC">n2</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> wanting to provide policing services</font> and policing services mean<font color="#CCCCCC"> quality of</font> <font color="#CCCCCC">life</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> community caretaking</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> vs law</font> enforcement which is writing tickets<font color="#E5E5E5"> and</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">arresting people so we're in the process</font> of making that those changes<font color="#CCCCCC"> how do</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> we</font>

do that<font color="#CCCCCC"> well a couple years ago</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> we put a</font> survey out to the community<font color="#CCCCCC"> we asked</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">what the interests were it in given</font> neighborhoods<font color="#CCCCCC"> we took the information</font> and we divided<font color="#CCCCCC"> napping</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> in 226 identified</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">neighborhoods many of those were</font>

identified by the community members in those areas some are historical<font color="#E5E5E5"> in that they were</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">housing projects that were put in many</font> years ago such as<font color="#CCCCCC"> country manor the</font> browns valley area<font color="#E5E5E5"> we put those in place</font>

and then we started doing community meetings<font color="#E5E5E5"> we take our survey information</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">we would take our members of our command</font> staff as well as officers<font color="#CCCCCC"> we would go</font> out into the<font color="#E5E5E5"> neighborhoods and we would</font> ask people what is it you want to see

from your<font color="#E5E5E5"> Police Department</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> we're really</font> striving to do more of a customized approach to how we provide law enforcement services<font color="#E5E5E5"> the policing</font> services for the community<font color="#E5E5E5"> because you</font> really can't apply the same needs<font color="#E5E5E5"> or</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> the</font>

<font color="#E5E5E5">service to the</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> I malaria as you do out</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">browns valley</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> there too</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> and</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> dyer</font> entirely different neighborhoods<font color="#E5E5E5"> they</font> have different needs different interests <font color="#E5E5E5">the same is true with old town or with</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">North</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> napa there are</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> just there's a lot</font>

of differences in what they want<font color="#CCCCCC"> there's</font> some consistent things<font color="#E5E5E5"> but there are a</font> lot of differences and we want to customize that approach<font color="#CCCCCC"> give our</font> community<font color="#CCCCCC"> what they need</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> the purpose</font> behind this is we really need to build

trust with our community<font color="#E5E5E5"> we really need</font> to get<font color="#E5E5E5"> to</font> the point where we have more interaction <font color="#CCCCCC">we need to have more positive</font> interaction with our community<font color="#CCCCCC"> I think</font> <font color="#CCCCCC">we do a very good job as it is</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> now but</font>

not all contacts are positive<font color="#E5E5E5"> so we want</font> to increase that we have put mechanisms in place already<font color="#E5E5E5"> that have helped us in</font> those areas<font color="#E5E5E5"> some of those are we do some</font> less traditional methods in<font color="#E5E5E5"> in our</font> department we have a homeless outreach

program<font color="#E5E5E5"> we have a lot of people who are</font> in town who<font color="#E5E5E5"> don't can't afford a place</font> to live<font color="#CCCCCC"> so we have a group of people</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">civilian employees who go out they</font> contact our homeless<font color="#E5E5E5"> they</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> if the person</font> needs a<font color="#E5E5E5"> driver's license so they can get</font>

a job or if they need to apply for<font color="#CCCCCC"> SSI</font> benefits<font color="#CCCCCC"> whatever they need if they need</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">section 8 housing that group of people</font> <font color="#CCCCCC">help</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> those individuals and their</font> homelessness<font color="#CCCCCC"> so that</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> they're less</font> vulnerable<font color="#CCCCCC"> are less susceptible to</font>

becoming victims or having to resort to crime to fulfill their needs<font color="#E5E5E5"> another</font> area that we we have addressed is we use we have a diversion program in our department<font color="#CCCCCC"> so use the version program we</font> have a contract employee from a private

group who comes in and she does a lot of work with juveniles to make sure that they<font color="#E5E5E5"> don't</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> as young people they don't</font> end up with a criminal record that's <font color="#E5E5E5">going to follow them in life and it's</font> going to preclude them from being

successful so we take as many of those cases we can we try to divert them out of the criminal justice system<font color="#CCCCCC"> we try</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> to</font> provide help for people instead of just holding them to the<font color="#CCCCCC"> cream in the</font>

criminal justice system<font color="#CCCCCC"> another area</font> that we've started recently is and this is with help from the county's health and human services<font color="#E5E5E5"> is that we have a</font> mental health worker who has a drug and alcohol<font color="#E5E5E5"> background</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> who's embedded</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> in our</font>

department for 20 hours a week<font color="#CCCCCC"> she helps</font> us with people with<font color="#E5E5E5"> mental health issues</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">as they are emerging instead of waiting</font> for those people<font color="#CCCCCC"> too</font> <font color="#CCCCCC">commit some sort of act that then forces</font> them into the criminal justice system

<font color="#CCCCCC">our goal our intent is to help people</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> as</font> much<font color="#E5E5E5"> as we possibly can</font> that's our focus<font color="#CCCCCC"> we have we're also</font> using a lot more social media to try to get in touch with people<font color="#E5E5E5"> i'm sure that a</font> lot of you have seen our messages that

come out either nixle<font color="#E5E5E5"> on facebook on</font> <font color="#CCCCCC">Twitter we're</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> trying to use those but</font> our<font color="#E5E5E5"> our real focus</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> is is trying to</font> reconnect with the community<font color="#E5E5E5"> have those</font> <font color="#CCCCCC">parties positive interactions were</font> closely<font color="#CCCCCC"> customize that</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> service and give</font>

what<font color="#E5E5E5"> I truly believe</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> napa once to</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">maintain the high quality of life issue</font> here<font color="#E5E5E5"> and that is that positive</font> interaction the policing<font color="#E5E5E5"> instead of law</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">enforcement</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> why napa I think nap</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> is an</font> ideal spot for it because we have

through the years we've hired very good quality people for<font color="#E5E5E5"> our department</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> we are</font> very selective<font color="#E5E5E5"> and who gets hired</font><font color="#CCCCCC"> we</font> want to<font color="#E5E5E5"> make sure that there are fit for</font> our agency<font color="#E5E5E5"> and that we are fit for them</font> <font color="#CCCCCC">we want to</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> make sure that they</font>

understand what it is that the community <font color="#E5E5E5">expect from them we want them to provide</font> that service<font color="#CCCCCC"> that's not to say that</font> we're not going to do law enforcement work because we're going to continue to do that but<font color="#E5E5E5"> it's really reaching out</font>

<font color="#E5E5E5">becoming a part of the community having</font> a deeper understanding of what the <font color="#E5E5E5">neighborhoods and what individuals in</font> this community<font color="#CCCCCC"> what and</font><font color="#E5E5E5"> working toward</font> that<font color="#CCCCCC"> so the other thing that we have is</font> we have a very engaged community<font color="#CCCCCC"> we have</font>

a very caring community<font color="#CCCCCC"> we have a very</font> giving community and with the help from the community here and with<font color="#E5E5E5"> the talent</font> that we have in the police department<font color="#CCCCCC"> i</font> <font color="#E5E5E5">truly believe that we can get to a place</font> where we provide you the service that

you expect from your<font color="#CCCCCC"> Police Department</font> thank you



Video Description

City of Napa Police Chief Steve Potter shares his idea of policing that connects with the community as part of the TEDxNapaValley 2015 "Redefining Success: changing direction mid-stream" event.

Steve's Event Photos are here - https://www.flickr.com/photos/tedxnapavalley/sets/72157652059669511

This video was produced by 360 Kreative Services (http://360kreative.com) in conjunction with 3 rock marketing (http://www.3rockmarketing.com)

Born and raised in Napa, California, Steve has more than three decades of law enforcement experience in Napa County. A proud public servant described by the mayor as a good communicator, problem solver and widely involved and respected in the community, Steve was appointed Police Chief in Napa in 2014. He is a current member of the Napa County Hispanic Chamber of Commerce and sits on the board of directors for Leadership Napa Valley. Steve is also an associate member of IACP (the International Association of Chiefs of Police), an associate member of CPCA (the California Police Chiefs Association), and a member of the California Peace Officers Association.

This talk was given at a TEDx event using the TED conference format but independently organized by a local community. Learn more at http://ted.com/tedx